web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#133662 05/25/07 08:04 AM
sortonb Offline OP
OP Offline
I am a new office manager at a company that really has no idea how their phone system works. Even the tech guy I called out spent hours basically just fumbling around the last time I called him out, so this time I want to figure it out myself. I think that we had a power surge last night, and today, I am not able to check voicemail and get an "Inactive Feature" message when I try feature 981, 983, 903, etc. I have read other posts on this, but can't figure it out.

When requested to power down the flash, does that mean the phone? I tried that, waited 10 minutes, and nothing changed. Then I just learned that there is a box on the wall, and tried unplugging the black cord leading into the box, plugging it back in, waiting 10 minutes, and still, nothing changed. Can anyone help?

Also, once it is all reset, I am going to have to re-record all messages??

Thanks in advance for any help you can give!

Nortel Phone System Service
VoIP Demo

Nortel Phone System Service in Canada

Do you need a Nortel Phone System technician or specific Nortel parts?
Atcom to the rescue! Our telephone techs have qualified experience servicing and troubleshooting Nortel CICS, MICS, & BCM telephone systems.
Service in Canada from sea to sea.

You have to figure out which unit is your voicemail. It could be a small flat box (CallPilot or Startalk Flash) or a large box the same size as your phone system control unit (Norstar Applications Module or NAM). You will need to reboot this unit and wait for up to 10 minutes. The unit should come back online, but if it doesn't or if you have trouble identifying your voicemail unit, then call a reputable dealer.

Hi sortonb and welcome to the board welcome

First off, do you have documentation for your phone system and your voicemail?