web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
As you may be aware from my recent rash of questions, I recently started playing around with BCM50's.

At time of install (by some hack), client insists he paid for keycodes to 32 sets. Element Manager indicates only 20 sets/ports active. There are exactly 20 sets installed at the location.

Question is: Is there a way to "activate" dormant ports/extensions? Do they lay dormant until activated, or is their inactivity an indication that they were not purchased?

D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Nortel Phone System Service
VoIP Demo

Nortel Phone System Service in Canada

Do you need a Nortel Phone System technician or specific Nortel parts?
Atcom to the rescue! Our telephone techs have qualified experience servicing and troubleshooting Nortel CICS, MICS, & BCM telephone systems.
Service in Canada from sea to sea.

Station ports are activated by license.

Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services (Retired)
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
OP Offline
Right. So, if licensed, they would appear "active" in the list of ports when viewing through Element Manager? Right now, all ports in excess of the original 20 are grey'ed out.

I'm wondering if I have to do something else to "activate" the ports within Element Manager (assuming they are bought/paid for).

D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Former Moderator-Nortel
Former Moderator-Nortel
The MOST digital station key codes you can activate with digital key codes are 12. Those 12 reside on the main unit.
If you want more than 12, then you add an expansion unit.
You must have 1 keycode for the expansion unit.
That keycode will enable whatever module you have in the expansion unit.
If you put a 16 DSM in there you will have 16 digital ports.
If you put a 32+ DSM in there you will have 32 digital ports.