Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#149616 - 09/25/11 08:44 AM BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
Danny_Ocean Offline
Member

Registered: 11/13/03
Posts: 1317
Loc: Miami, FL
As you may be aware from my recent rash of questions, I recently started playing around with BCM50's.

At time of install (by some hack), client insists he paid for keycodes to 32 sets. Element Manager indicates only 20 sets/ports active. There are exactly 20 sets installed at the location.

Question is: Is there a way to "activate" dormant ports/extensions? Do they lay dormant until activated, or is their inactivity an indication that they were not purchased?
_________________________
D. Ocean
Miami, FL

Top
Google Telephone Equipment Search
#149617 - 09/25/11 10:24 AM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
telemarv Offline
Member

Registered: 10/18/05
Posts: 4590
Loc: Ottawa, ON. Canada
Station ports are activated by license.
_________________________
Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
http://www.telemarv.ca
Specializing in Nortel Norstar, BCM and Allworx VoIP Servers

Top
#149618 - 09/25/11 10:27 AM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
Danny_Ocean Offline
Member

Registered: 11/13/03
Posts: 1317
Loc: Miami, FL
Right. So, if licensed, they would appear "active" in the list of ports when viewing through Element Manager? Right now, all ports in excess of the original 20 are grey'ed out.

I'm wondering if I have to do something else to "activate" the ports within Element Manager (assuming they are bought/paid for).
_________________________
D. Ocean
Miami, FL

Top
#149619 - 09/26/11 12:44 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
NTlayoff Offline
Moderator-Nortel

Registered: 12/22/03
Posts: 1910
Loc: Columbus, Ohio, USA
The MOST digital station key codes you can activate with digital key codes are 12. Those 12 reside on the main unit.
If you want more than 12, then you add an expansion unit.
You must have 1 keycode for the expansion unit.
That keycode will enable whatever module you have in the expansion unit.
If you put a 16 DSM in there you will have 16 digital ports.
If you put a 32+ DSM in there you will have 32 digital ports.

If you have a second expansion unit, you need another expansion key code and it will enable what ever module you put in there.

And the expansion ports may not show enabled until you connect a digital phone to each set of 16 ports.
_________________________
If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?

Top
#149620 - 09/26/11 12:51 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
NTlayoff Offline
Moderator-Nortel

Registered: 12/22/03
Posts: 1910
Loc: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Just taking a guess at your "only 20 ports" showing.

Do you have a 16-port DSM in the expansion?
That would give you 16 ports.

Then you may have only activated 4 digital ports on the main unit.

That would give you the 20 ports.

Most sales will come with enabling expansions before enabling main unit ports. Cheaper.
_________________________
If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?

Top
#149621 - 09/26/11 12:59 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
Danny_Ocean Offline
Member

Registered: 11/13/03
Posts: 1317
Loc: Miami, FL
There are two expansion cabinets. One expansion houses the PRI card. The second expansion appears to have a 16-port DSM card.

Not sure which is which, as the amphenols are not labeled, and I'm not familiar enough with the port numbering to know which ports are on the main cabinet and which are on the expansion. I guess I'll have to do some more reading/exploring in the browser.


If I punch down a set to the next available port, the system will see it, but the phone doesn't show time/date (no power to the digital set).

I think you may be correct with the 4 digital ports on the main/16 on the expansion. I'll have to physically trace the amphenols to determine what's/what.

Thank you.
_________________________
D. Ocean
Miami, FL

Top
#149622 - 10/01/11 01:54 AM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
madwok Offline
Member

Registered: 10/16/07
Posts: 49
Loc: Florida, US
DN's on expansion would have different bus # than the one on the main base unit if you look at them thru Element Manager. If you have the license but have no actual set plugged in, the stat will show enabling instead of enabled .

Top
#149623 - 10/03/11 08:04 AM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
Robin Neilen Offline
Member

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 26
Loc: 816 Executive Dr, Oviedo, Fl 3...
Danny,
It sounds like you are mixing up how Norte (now Avaya) licenses the BCM50. All VM license are based on Key codes. The Stations and Analog ports are mixed licensed. example: The base unit is key code driven but any MBM in the expansion slot are whole licensed by the expansion key code.
_________________________
DataElectric-Avaya/FL Gov, SMB & Enterprised Partner
www.edataelect.com

Top
#149624 - 10/03/11 08:28 AM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
Robin Neilen Offline
Member

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 26
Loc: 816 Executive Dr, Oviedo, Fl 3...
Danny,
Also please keep in mind that the BCM50 works on a resource bases and the system was designed to support 30 phones.

Very easy to find the amount he paid for by the element manager under licensing or logging on to the KRS website (avaya partners only) for the current licensing in the system
_________________________
DataElectric-Avaya/FL Gov, SMB & Enterprised Partner
www.edataelect.com

Top

Moderator:  MooreTel, NTlayoff, Z-man 
Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
TARGETED LEADS Telephone Installers, System Installation & Phone System Sales!
Technician Search, enter State or Zip Code
Shout Box

FREE DESI Labeling System Software!
FREE DESI Labeling Software - Click Here!
Most Recent 5 Post
ECS Adix
by juno
02:01 PM
SL1100 VE telephones abrubtly stopped audibly ringing
by Mickamg
10:49 AM
os mailbox alert
by nabulsi
02:51 AM
What is the pin out for Nitsuko 110B DSS Console?
by sugar22
05:52 PM
DK424 base cabinet not communicating with some expansion cabinets
by Dan Case
12:58 AM
Who's Online
27 registered (RonP, RATHER BE FISHING, justbill, newtecky, phonemeister, pvj, paulw, juno, Yoda, ChrisRR, Coral Tech, johnboy, www.telcom1.net, teldata1, nonameyet, Tip&Ring, gelehu, dosjock, John807, hitechcomm, dans, skip555, OBT, JBean3329, jeffmoss26, hbiss, Toolie), 245 Guests and 140 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
(Views)Popular Topics
Ask the person below you a game. 7571156
Pictures of ugly work II 5102770
Just for Jokester #12 1639177
Just for Jokester #13 1339144
Just for Jokester #14 1052172
New Members: Post Here 918187
Pictures of Ugly Work IV 877645
Constructive Criticism 873227
Just for Jokester #11 724079
So let's Play a Game "Who am I ?" 683328
Newest Members
phonetroll, IP-surfer, ajever, tsomctl, kwolfe
48028 Registered Users
Forum Stats
48029 Members
59 Forums
89033 Topics
608509 Posts

Max Online: 4713 @ 04/02/14 11:57 AM
Today's Birthdays
farhanrashid, gishymoto, John326, kisa, russ75707, tcullen
Top Posters (30 Days)
John807 45
ATechguy 41
hitechcomm 37
justbill 29
Silversam 22
hbiss 21
nameless 21
EV607797 20
dexman 20
Derrick 19
Free Voip phone with every line!
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
Ad Spot #4 for sale call 1-800-766-3425
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic

Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
ęCopyright Sundance Communications 1998-2016




Trusted Partners
Sitemap