Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#149616 - 09/25/11 08:44 AM BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
Danny_Ocean Offline
Member

Registered: 11/13/03
Posts: 1262
Loc: Miami, FL
As you may be aware from my recent rash of questions, I recently started playing around with BCM50's.

At time of install (by some hack), client insists he paid for keycodes to 32 sets. Element Manager indicates only 20 sets/ports active. There are exactly 20 sets installed at the location.

Question is: Is there a way to "activate" dormant ports/extensions? Do they lay dormant until activated, or is their inactivity an indication that they were not purchased?
_________________________
D. Ocean
Miami, FL

Top
1-800-766-3425 Buy & Sell Equipment
#149617 - 09/25/11 10:24 AM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
telemarv Offline
Member

Registered: 10/18/05
Posts: 4590
Loc: Ottawa, ON. Canada
Station ports are activated by license.
_________________________
Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
http://www.telemarv.ca
Specializing in Nortel Norstar, BCM and Allworx VoIP Servers

Top
#149618 - 09/25/11 10:27 AM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
Danny_Ocean Offline
Member

Registered: 11/13/03
Posts: 1262
Loc: Miami, FL
Right. So, if licensed, they would appear "active" in the list of ports when viewing through Element Manager? Right now, all ports in excess of the original 20 are grey'ed out.

I'm wondering if I have to do something else to "activate" the ports within Element Manager (assuming they are bought/paid for).
_________________________
D. Ocean
Miami, FL

Top
#149619 - 09/26/11 12:44 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
NTlayoff Offline
Moderator-Nortel

Registered: 12/22/03
Posts: 1772
Loc: Columbus, Ohio, USA
The MOST digital station key codes you can activate with digital key codes are 12. Those 12 reside on the main unit.
If you want more than 12, then you add an expansion unit.
You must have 1 keycode for the expansion unit.
That keycode will enable whatever module you have in the expansion unit.
If you put a 16 DSM in there you will have 16 digital ports.
If you put a 32+ DSM in there you will have 32 digital ports.

If you have a second expansion unit, you need another expansion key code and it will enable what ever module you put in there.

And the expansion ports may not show enabled until you connect a digital phone to each set of 16 ports.
_________________________
If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?

Top
#149620 - 09/26/11 12:51 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
NTlayoff Offline
Moderator-Nortel

Registered: 12/22/03
Posts: 1772
Loc: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Just taking a guess at your "only 20 ports" showing.

Do you have a 16-port DSM in the expansion?
That would give you 16 ports.

Then you may have only activated 4 digital ports on the main unit.

That would give you the 20 ports.

Most sales will come with enabling expansions before enabling main unit ports. Cheaper.
_________________________
If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?

Top
#149621 - 09/26/11 12:59 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
Danny_Ocean Offline
Member

Registered: 11/13/03
Posts: 1262
Loc: Miami, FL
There are two expansion cabinets. One expansion houses the PRI card. The second expansion appears to have a 16-port DSM card.

Not sure which is which, as the amphenols are not labeled, and I'm not familiar enough with the port numbering to know which ports are on the main cabinet and which are on the expansion. I guess I'll have to do some more reading/exploring in the browser.


If I punch down a set to the next available port, the system will see it, but the phone doesn't show time/date (no power to the digital set).

I think you may be correct with the 4 digital ports on the main/16 on the expansion. I'll have to physically trace the amphenols to determine what's/what.

Thank you.
_________________________
D. Ocean
Miami, FL

Top
#149622 - 10/01/11 01:54 AM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
madwok Offline
Member

Registered: 10/16/07
Posts: 49
Loc: Florida, US
DN's on expansion would have different bus # than the one on the main base unit if you look at them thru Element Manager. If you have the license but have no actual set plugged in, the stat will show enabling instead of enabled .

Top
#149623 - 10/03/11 08:04 AM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
Robin Neilen Offline
Member

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 26
Loc: 816 Executive Dr, Oviedo, Fl 3...
Danny,
It sounds like you are mixing up how Norte (now Avaya) licenses the BCM50. All VM license are based on Key codes. The Stations and Analog ports are mixed licensed. example: The base unit is key code driven but any MBM in the expansion slot are whole licensed by the expansion key code.
_________________________
DataElectric-Avaya/FL Gov, SMB & Enterprised Partner
www.edataelect.com

Top
#149624 - 10/03/11 08:28 AM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?
Robin Neilen Offline
Member

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 26
Loc: 816 Executive Dr, Oviedo, Fl 3...
Danny,
Also please keep in mind that the BCM50 works on a resource bases and the system was designed to support 30 phones.

Very easy to find the amount he paid for by the element manager under licensing or logging on to the KRS website (avaya partners only) for the current licensing in the system
_________________________
DataElectric-Avaya/FL Gov, SMB & Enterprised Partner
www.edataelect.com

Top

Moderator:  MooreTel, NTlayoff, Z-man 
Equipment Search, enter part number
Technician Search, enter State or Zip Code
Signup for our Top Telecom Sites Search!
Shout Box

ShoreTel Repairs & Equipment Sales 1-800-766-3425
Paid Leads - Guaranteed money in your pocket!
INSTALLER REQUESTED IN PA
by mickeyme
04/10/14 12:00 PM
INSTALLER REQUESTED IN WA
by mickeyme
04/08/14 04:32 PM
INSTALLER REQUESTED IN MN
by mickeyme
04/08/14 03:13 PM
INSTALLER REQUESTED IN NV
by mickeyme
04/07/14 06:27 PM
INSTALLER REQUESTED IN PA
by mickeyme
04/07/14 12:18 PM
Most Recent 5 Post
Looking for pcmcc software for Compact II
by jakusb
Axxesss Voice Mail Admin Password Lost
by PaulC
Gutted ITT 2564
by ChrisRR
sl1000 to sl1000 same lan transfer not working on CO line
by aboujordan
07:45 AM
7400 Freezing
by emeraldisle
03:12 AM
Who's Online
67 registered (jknichols, aboujordan, ChrisRR, jakusb, skip555, ahtbmp, JasonRy, bmreen, Genesiscomm, PaulC, Derrick, dtmf, dosjock, hawk82, WillTech12, KENB, jab1780, STS E, emeraldisle, MooreTel, icom, amteltech, OBT, Lakshmi Narayan, metelcom, R4+Z, Hofman telekom, nameless, stepswitch, phonman123, CPOChris, Wellco, dexman, Carl Navarro, KaiserBügeleißen, Mercenary Roadie, Touch Tone Tommy, noisemarine, Dlr920, hbiss, newtecky, justbill, Dimension Seven, brokeda, 94astro, hitechcomm, RATHER BE FISHING, gelehu, Silversam, bully, Ray01, DND ON, DayTech, Coral Tech, BobRobert, jeffmoss26, kjwiewall, mdaniel, Craig A. Ahrens, ampleworks, paulw, jwooten, Yoda, Mike 55, 3 invisible), 666 Guests and 104 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(Views)Popular Topics
Ask the person below you a game. 2754916
Pictures of ugly work II 1943000
Just for Jokester #12 689147
Just for Jokester #13 598607
New Members: Post Here 441421
Pictures of Ugly Work IV 397337
Constructive Criticism 380792
Just for Jokester #14 336992
Pictures of Ugly Work V 263023
Just for Jokester #11 234291
Newest Members
Lakshmi Narayan, PaulC, XSTek, scotty rotten, TigerFish
45959 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 59
justbill 50
MooreTel 49
Rcaman 46
mdaniel 41
hitechcomm 37
KENB 36
Derrick 33
jeffmoss26 31
mickeyme 29
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Forum Stats
45959 Members
58 Forums
81751 Topics
569875 Posts

Max Online: 4713 @ 04/02/14 11:57 AM

Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2014
©Copyright Usedphones.com 1996-2014


Phone Repair Services