Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#149616 - 09/25/11 12:44 PM BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,317
Danny_Ocean Offline
Member
Danny_Ocean  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,317
Miami, FL
As you may be aware from my recent rash of questions, I recently started playing around with BCM50's.

At time of install (by some hack), client insists he paid for keycodes to 32 sets. Element Manager indicates only 20 sets/ports active. There are exactly 20 sets installed at the location.

Question is: Is there a way to "activate" dormant ports/extensions? Do they lay dormant until activated, or is their inactivity an indication that they were not purchased?


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Google Telephone Equipment Search
#149617 - 09/25/11 02:24 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?  
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,590
telemarv Offline
Member
telemarv  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,590
Ottawa, ON. Canada
Station ports are activated by license.


Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
http://www.telemarv.ca
Specializing in Nortel Norstar, BCM and Allworx VoIP Servers
#149618 - 09/25/11 02:27 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,317
Danny_Ocean Offline
Member
Danny_Ocean  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,317
Miami, FL
Right. So, if licensed, they would appear "active" in the list of ports when viewing through Element Manager? Right now, all ports in excess of the original 20 are grey'ed out.

I'm wondering if I have to do something else to "activate" the ports within Element Manager (assuming they are bought/paid for).


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
#149619 - 09/26/11 04:44 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?  
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,928
NTlayoff Offline
Moderator-Nortel
NTlayoff  Offline
Moderator-Nortel

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,928
Columbus, Ohio, USA
The MOST digital station key codes you can activate with digital key codes are 12. Those 12 reside on the main unit.
If you want more than 12, then you add an expansion unit.
You must have 1 keycode for the expansion unit.
That keycode will enable whatever module you have in the expansion unit.
If you put a 16 DSM in there you will have 16 digital ports.
If you put a 32+ DSM in there you will have 32 digital ports.

If you have a second expansion unit, you need another expansion key code and it will enable what ever module you put in there.

And the expansion ports may not show enabled until you connect a digital phone to each set of 16 ports.


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
#149620 - 09/26/11 04:51 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?  
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,928
NTlayoff Offline
Moderator-Nortel
NTlayoff  Offline
Moderator-Nortel

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,928
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Just taking a guess at your "only 20 ports" showing.

Do you have a 16-port DSM in the expansion?
That would give you 16 ports.

Then you may have only activated 4 digital ports on the main unit.

That would give you the 20 ports.

Most sales will come with enabling expansions before enabling main unit ports. Cheaper.


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
#149621 - 09/26/11 04:59 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,317
Danny_Ocean Offline
Member
Danny_Ocean  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,317
Miami, FL
There are two expansion cabinets. One expansion houses the PRI card. The second expansion appears to have a 16-port DSM card.

Not sure which is which, as the amphenols are not labeled, and I'm not familiar enough with the port numbering to know which ports are on the main cabinet and which are on the expansion. I guess I'll have to do some more reading/exploring in the browser.


If I punch down a set to the next available port, the system will see it, but the phone doesn't show time/date (no power to the digital set).

I think you may be correct with the 4 digital ports on the main/16 on the expansion. I'll have to physically trace the amphenols to determine what's/what.

Thank you.


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
#149622 - 10/01/11 05:54 AM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?  
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
madwok Offline
Member
madwok  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Florida, US
DN's on expansion would have different bus # than the one on the main base unit if you look at them thru Element Manager. If you have the license but have no actual set plugged in, the stat will show enabling instead of enabled .

#149623 - 10/03/11 12:04 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Robin Neilen Offline
Member
Robin Neilen  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
816 Executive Dr, Oviedo, Fl 3...
Danny,
It sounds like you are mixing up how Norte (now Avaya) licenses the BCM50. All VM license are based on Key codes. The Stations and Analog ports are mixed licensed. example: The base unit is key code driven but any MBM in the expansion slot are whole licensed by the expansion key code.


DataElectric-Avaya/FL Gov, SMB & Enterprised Partner
www.edataelect.com
#149624 - 10/03/11 12:28 PM Re: BCM50 - Extensions/ports dormant until activated?  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Robin Neilen Offline
Member
Robin Neilen  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
816 Executive Dr, Oviedo, Fl 3...
Danny,
Also please keep in mind that the BCM50 works on a resource bases and the system was designed to support 30 phones.

Very easy to find the amount he paid for by the element manager under licensing or logging on to the KRS website (avaya partners only) for the current licensing in the system


DataElectric-Avaya/FL Gov, SMB & Enterprised Partner
www.edataelect.com

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff, Z-man 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
TARGETED LEADS Telephone Installers, System Installation & Phone System Sales!
Technician Search, enter State or Zip Code
Shout Box
FREE DESI Labeling System Software!
FREE DESI Labeling Software - Click Here!
Most Recent 5 Post
Single Drop OSP
by dexman. 10/19/17 06:41 PM
SV9100 - Cloud dialler setup
by ecohomes. 10/19/17 04:14 PM
PRI on a MICS
by teleco. 10/19/17 01:54 PM
SBX PRI
by adteldon. 10/19/17 01:36 PM
Who's Online Now
40 registered members (Scotty Woods, John807, Silversam, seafort, Touch Tone Tommy, OBT, ATechguy, Carlos#1, Ironhedz, Johnny Luchador, hbiss, Ohm_Boy, Professor Shadow, TA in KC, TMacie, JBean3329, kenc, GregKlaus, PatsRule14, jab1780, Iwatsu Guru, upstateny, dexman, Rcaman, ahartsell, usedphones, Eric Young, Yoda, jknichols, Ben Holmes, Bushmills, Toolie, ecohomes, ChrisRR, TelephoneSystemsDirect, CIX670-PhilDeck, Ken B, skip555, 2 invisible), 802 guests, and 623 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
KHOD, celeste, John-Bee, CAMBRIDGEDENTAL, Jone2017
48284 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics89,822
Posts612,716
Members48,285
Most Online4,713
Apr 2nd, 2014
Today's Birthdays
junkman, Tom J.
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 59
John807 20
oobie 14
RedBul 13
Free Voip phone with every line!
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
Ad Spot for sale $299 This spot gets 5 million page loads per month! Call 1-800-766-3425
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
Website for sale!
Business and website or sale!
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
ęCopyright Sundance Communications 1998-2016




Trusted Partners
Sitemap