web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#538241 10/24/12 10:56 AM
@work Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi folks
I'm new on the forum, some great topics that have help so I signed up.

I'm fairly new with SV8100 system and well I'm the phone guy at work.

just recently our provider explained we got hacked (most likely thought remote VM), because of this I've disabled access to remote VM in our dialing tables until I setup a pass for all VM's.

I just want to know if anyone can tell me if I should be looking at other things in our system to ensure hacker prevention to access our system to make ANY calls period.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

few things to consider.
How was your system hacked? is it web accessible from the outside world? Have you changed the password....to include the well known MF password?

Have you disabeled ALL unused mailboxes?
Do you have good passwords for all used mailboxes and stronger passwords for admin mailboxes?

Do you have Voicemail notification? If not, prevent trunk access; if so, make approriate Toll restrictions on the VM group.

You may also want to contact your vendor and ask why this happened. Se if they will get in and set this up for you. 1 hour remote (if you have all of the your ducks in a row) charge sure coudl be cheaper than getting hacked again.

[Linked Image from i26.servimg.com]
TouchPoint Networks.

Serving the Northwest Since 1991
NEC Shoretel Zultys T3 Tadiran
Also toll bar your voicemail ports for local service access only..

Regards,

Paul W