Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#561698 11/20/13 05:15 PM
PeterO Offline OP
OP Offline
Greetings!

Newbie here. A sister company discontinued the use of their Telenium IP which we still use, and gave us their IP 7024D (LIP-7000 series) phones. In the process of reconfiguring them to use them as remote phones, I managed to brick a few :\

The first one I successfully reconfigured, then noticed the firmware was different so I just _had_ to try out "remote upgrade". Yep. Pretty dumb move. The phone ended up in download mode unable to FTP the firmware. I figured that that would be recoverable when I brought the phone back into the office, because I could still get to the web interface (which had a form where you can upload firmware). Well. No such luck. I switched the phone to DHCP. Now it won't even get an IP address anymore (yes, we do have a working DHCP server). Loss 1.

I had brought a second phone to home (just in case it wouldn't work rightaway). Well. I was in the middle of reconfiguring IP settings and gateway when my wife asked to use the computer, so I set it aside. When she was done facebooking, and I tried to finish configuring the phone but it was locked up solid. No response. I powercycled it. Now, that previously working (but misconfigured) phone won't go past Initializing.......

Brick 2.

I tried a third one at work. In the middle of playing with it (reconfiguring IP, gateway, and mode) I have an incoming call, so I had to set my play 7024D aside. Well. Same thing. Frozen, and nothing but Initializing.... on powercycle.

Brick 3!

I was able to reconfigure the remaining phones and didn't brick any others, but I would really like to revive my freshly killed phones.