web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#605881 11/29/16 09:44 PM
C64PC Offline OP
OP Offline
Hey guys! Years ago I used to work in the telecom field (installing copper and fiber)then there was a major layoff so I maanged to find work for an IT agency mainly mainframes (no joy). After years of fighting management I managed find a job elsewhere to a Telecom Agency where I became a field tech. My main job is working with old analog and digital phones. I work in various old buildings where I see 66, bix, krone blocks (all mixed together), bad conditions, and hardly labeled. So I am learning how to trace via tone tester, punching down, setting up voicemail; but I realized I forgotten a lot and I need to learn more (quickly) especially if I want to hold onto this position. I am learning as much as I can OJT, but it is not enough.
So can anyone recommended more sites like this one and what schools in NYC or online can help train me to be a better telecom phone tech. Need all the help I can. Thank you so much.

Last edited by C64PC; 11/29/16 09:44 PM.
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Dude,
I hate to say it but it's trial and error. Either you know it or not. Unless you have a good on the fly knowledge base IE an old timer on speed dial. You are going to be on your own alot. This is a dying trade with IT guys who think they can do it better. Uh huh NO

John 807
Admin
Admin