Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#613105 - 10/08/17 04:12 AM Merlin Legend Processor  
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 65
jb-alert@live.com Online content
Member
jb-alert@live.com  Online Content
Member

Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 65
orlando, fl
Hi,I need help in my upgrade from a Merlin II to Merlin Legend. Two questions. (1) I'm looking at Processor cards on eBay, and bought one that said it would work on either a Legend or Magix - model 617R33-KML w/ CKE5. When I plug in the System programming phone, its dead. The MLX phones work when plugged into the 408 MLX w/ ID, but the ATLs don't. From what I can find, it is not backwards compatible to the Legend. I've located another card on ebay, but I can't tell the release or processor level - LEGEND PROCESSOR 517H33 108004573 MODULE. The Legend is for a residence, so I'm only using ATL and 4 MLX phones for caller ID, and 016 Basic set cards, acting as a Key system. Given this, what is the minimum Processor I can use and how to identify? My 2nd question is the 016 card w/ ring gen. And special requirements to use this for single line sets? I've read countless documents on the Legend, but can't find these answers, and no mention of a 016 card (only 012). I'm using the right cards for the MLX and ATL phones, with the MLS card in the 1st slot after the processor. Thanks for any insight! Jim

Avaya & Nortel search for systems, cards, phones, software, manuals and repairs!
Avaya Nortel Eqt Search
#613107 - 10/08/17 09:22 AM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: jb-alert@live.com]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,153
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,153
Arlington, Massachusetts
I'm a bit unclear about what is being plugged into what. The MLX board supports MLX phones and ATL boards support ATL phones. Legend processor R7 V14.2 is the last software before Lucent introduced the Magix.

The Legend supports MLX, ATL, Partner and SLTs.


I FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
#613111 - 10/08/17 07:10 PM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: dexman]  
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 65
jb-alert@live.com Online content
Member
jb-alert@live.com  Online Content
Member

Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 65
orlando, fl
Hi, I know it sounds confusing... When I looked on eBay for a Legend processor card, I found one that said "LEGEND PROCESSOR 517H33 108004573 MODULE". How can I tell what release and processor chip (CKE4..5, etc) it is?

I read last night that it you use the Magix processor card, it won't support Legend ATL cards. Since my system has mostly ATL cards, then I'll need to find an original Legend processor.

My other question is will the 016 basic telephone card work with any Legend processor card; the only ones I've seen are the 012 cards.

#613114 - 10/08/17 09:25 PM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: jb-alert@live.com]  
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 3,531
hitechcomm Online content
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
hitechcomm  Online Content

Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 3,531
New York, NY
Just out of courisity why would toy want a Merlin Legend in your home.

It's older then dirt. Been od 20 or more years ago.

#613115 - 10/08/17 09:51 PM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: hitechcomm]  
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 65
jb-alert@live.com Online content
Member
jb-alert@live.com  Online Content
Member

Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 65
orlando, fl
Good question; the Merlin system has phones that have a great design, and the system has simple, but great features; I know its overkill for a home, but the auto ans voice intercom, auto dial buttons, and delayed ring options are perfect for a residence. Also, I'm slightly partial, having retired from AT&T Labs, and got to work in HQ for many years, and used all the systems starting with 1A2 (also my hobby) up to IP phones in my office now. The designs have stood the test of time!

#613118 - 10/08/17 10:51 PM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: jb-alert@live.com]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,153
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,153
Arlington, Massachusetts
I think that the 016 T/R will work. The thing about using the codes on the outside of the processor itself is that the board could have been flashed at some point.

If you have access to WinSPM, you can get a snapshot of the entire carrier. The stats for the processor would be displayed. There is also a way to see it from the main console, but I'm a bit hazy. Possibly under Maintenance.

Actually, the Partner ACS R7 and 8 make fine residential systems. I have an R7 with voice mail.

I'd be comfortable swapping it out with a Magix, with the exception of the still high prices for the voice mail components....module and license.

Another thing to be mindful of with the Legend and Magix is that they don't take too kindly to system changes....swapping out a 408 MLX for a 016 MLX for example. You'll find yourself having to do a Board Renumber and programming contortions.


I FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
#613128 - 10/09/17 03:58 PM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: jb-alert@live.com]  
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 237
cvrbob Offline
Member
cvrbob  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 237
Southern Ca, low & high desert
since you want to keep your ATL sets and you want to use a 016 T&R you will need a Release 7 legend, with a cke 4 or 5 , a cke 3 if used will not show more than 12 stations use of the 016
look for a legend upgrade card on ebay for a release 7, then you can use a magix pross to down grade with a clamshell to work on your system

Last edited by cvrbob; 10/09/17 04:06 PM.
#613181 - 10/11/17 04:19 AM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: jb-alert@live.com]  
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 995
1864 Offline
Member
1864  Offline
Member
*

Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 995
East America
[
It's almost unbelievable the durability of some of the Merlin machines.


Proud 1 star member since 2004.
#613269 - 10/13/17 07:06 AM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: jb-alert@live.com]  
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 463
ChrisRR Online content
Member
ChrisRR  Online Content
Member
***

Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 463
Manchester, New Hampshire
I've been repairing and selling the old 206 and 410 breadboxes and cleaning up. Every 206 I've fixed has had the same issue, a tantalum capacitor shorts and burns a trace on the board. Replace the cap, repair the trace and it's up and running again. 410's seem to be a mixed bag as far as what makes them fail, but aside from one that took a lightning hit, I've always been able to get them going again. Once I get the warning light out, check all the ports, and it's functional again, I always rebuild the power supply and let it run for a week or two to make sure it's going to hang in, if it passes that test it's off to ebay. People that have them don't like to give them up.

#613353 - 10/17/17 12:14 AM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: jb-alert@live.com]  
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 65
jb-alert@live.com Online content
Member
jb-alert@live.com  Online Content
Member

Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 65
orlando, fl
I've been trying to install the WinSPM9 software so I can configure the Merlin Legend. When I click install nothing happens. Also tried to run under Win7 option and as an Admin, still nothing happens. Anyone know if it can run under Win10? Thanks, Jim

#613355 - 10/17/17 07:04 AM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: jb-alert@live.com]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,153
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,153
Arlington, Massachusetts
I last ran WinSPM using XP. I think that Merlinman once posted that he was able to run it with Windows 7 using an XP emulator feature. Once loaded, an adapter will be needed if connecting directly to the processor. If all else fails, most programming can be done with an MLX-20L.


I FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
#613362 - 10/17/17 04:25 PM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: jb-alert@live.com]  
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,105
Touch Tone Tommy Online content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
Touch Tone Tommy  Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,105
Paso Robles, CA
Run the installer and WinSPM in Windows XP (Service Pack 3), disable visual themes, and as Administrator

#613364 - 10/17/17 05:01 PM Re: Merlin Legend Processor [Re: jb-alert@live.com]  
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 237
cvrbob Offline
Member
cvrbob  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 237
Southern Ca, low & high desert
other choices windows 7 right click find run in compatible mode maybe only in pro , or you can find windows virtual box from Oracle software in 7 or 8


Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
TARGETED LEADS Telephone Installers, System Installation & Phone System Sales!
Technician Search, enter State or Zip Code
Shout Box
FREE DESI Labeling System Software!
FREE DESI Labeling Software - Click Here!
Most Recent 5 Post
uMobility SL1100
by teldata1. 10/20/17 12:12 AM
Intercom on SX-200 AX Analog Port
by westerntelephone. 10/19/17 10:32 PM
Single Drop OSP
by dexman. 10/19/17 06:41 PM
SV9100 - Cloud dialler setup
by ecohomes. 10/19/17 04:14 PM
Who's Online Now
34 registered members (dexman, Yoda, MooreTel, newtecky, metelcom, mongo5150, hbiss, teldata1, Carlos#1, jeffmoss26, Touch Tone Tommy, phonman123, jb-alert@live.com, justbill, DND ON, mbhydro, ChrisRR, phonetroll, C5Z, Arthur P. Bloom, Keyset6, ahartsell, westerntelephone, Scotty Woods, John807, Silversam, seafort, OBT, ATechguy, Ironhedz, Johnny Luchador, Ohm_Boy, 2 invisible), 432 guests, and 520 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
KHOD, celeste, John-Bee, CAMBRIDGEDENTAL, Jone2017
48284 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics89,824
Posts612,723
Members48,285
Most Online4,713
Apr 2nd, 2014
Today's Birthdays
Derbinator, Hound, Jaybroni, Tekamba
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 58
John807 18
oobie 14
RedBul 13
Free Voip phone with every line!
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
Ad Spot for sale $299 This spot gets 5 million page loads per month! Call 1-800-766-3425
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
Website for sale!
Business and website or sale!
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
ęCopyright Sundance Communications 1998-2016




Trusted Partners
Sitemap