Hi all,
Let me lay out.

System: Partner ACS R7
Avaya PDF File #: 518-456-804
Comcode 700313604
Issue 6
July 2004

BACKGROUND:
I am an expert IT/Network Admin and Datacom, but a novice at phone systems and the 66-block. I have moved one of my clients to a new office location and I figured I would save them some money and try to just simply transplant the system from one location to another. Everything went very smooth until the owner wanted more phone drops installed. I assumed it was going to be easy... lol

ISSUE:
Let me state this, the wiring all works and all the phones come up normally and are functioning correctly. But with the installation of the new lines I have of course ran out of extensions (there are only 9 with the base Partner system). I told my client that this shouldn’t be too big of an issue since on other phone systems I have simply piggy backed the phones on the same extension (on the 66-block). When someone calls the extension both phones ring. Who cares right, both phones are going to be in the same room or it’s nothing more than just an extra phone.

With that theory in mind:
2 phone drops are located in the same room. When I connect a phone to the DROP A the phone comes up and dials out and works great. I disconnect the phone and move over to DROP B (again same room just wired on the 66-block with jumpers to the other side of the block to accommodate the additional drop) phone comes up great and dials out with no issues. This in my mind tells me that the wiring is correct or at least is working correctly when a single phone is plugged into either jack in the conference room.

PROBLEM:
When I introduce an additional phone in the same room, meaning there are now 2 phones connected to the same extension/line both phones basically die. Both have their lights light up but nothing else. No dial tone, no nothing.