atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: J2telnoob home network project - 03/23/07 06:46 PM
Hi folks,

Im new to the IT world and as a little project im attempting to network my 3 home computers. One is a laptop running XP home, and the other 2 are desktops, one dual booting Fedora Core 6 and XP pro and the other running on Ubuntu 6.06.

My goal is simply to be able to share some files between them but my experience in the world of networks is limited to cabling and servicing various key systems.

My dsl modem is a speedstream 4100. I also have a broadcom v.92 56k modem and a Diamond supra express v.90 56k for when my boss needs me to do some voicemail programming. My router is a Dlink DI604.

I have a cisco 2501 too but i have no idea what to do with it.

I understand that time is precious so if any of my inquiries require more time than you have or are willing to give, a simple "read this" or "i learned by.." would be equally appreciated.

I read that samba is an app i can use for file sharing and I think I installed it sufficiently but other than that I know nothing about it and the info pages assume that you know a bit going into it.

Second question is about config. Again Im new to the IT world and while I know how to open a terminal and type 'ipconfig', the information Im given doesnt do me much good because while i have a notion of what it all means, theres nothing concrete on it up in my noggin so I cant say i really know what i need. I know my routers ip and subnet and stuff but im not sure what to do with it all. Ive spent alot of time 'looking' at things with 'help' and 'info' and 'ls' and 'view' and such but i dont do too much with it yet because i dont want to screw up what already does work. Ive gotten tired of constantly reinstalling hehehe.

So to recap:
How do I setup samba?
What do I need in config?

Thanks ahead for any and all help, i really do appreciate the time of others.
Posted By: jeffmoss26 Re: home network project - 03/23/07 07:31 PM