atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: mikietoo ATT 944 - 01/19/11 02:56 PM
I am a retired SWBT/ATT installer/repairman and have been asked by my church to help with their ATT 944 phones. They have no books other than a 2 page quick start user guide. I hope to get some basic "how it works" knowledge in this forum.

Do the CO lines connect directly to the phones or do they terminate in a control box or all go to a control phone before getting to the user telephone sets?

When I look at the back of a phone there are 2 modular cords in each phone. I understand that these are for Lines 1 - 4. Where does the control for the lites and hold come from?

I see no intercom wiring. How does a station get intercom and how are intercom assignments made?

Is there a manual available that will cover this info.
Posted By: dtmf Re: ATT 944 - 01/19/11 03:16 PM
They are your typical 4 line sets that will work together, the assigning of the sets is done with programming at the sets themselves. There is no control box.
Keep in mind to make sure the total length of telephone wiring used in your phone system is less than 600 feet. If the wiring is longer, you may need to use a special filter device.
Here is all you should need: https://dl.owneriq.net/4/4de6ac25-0c0d-4143-8760-6a6c1cc1edce.pdf
Posted By: mikietoo Re: ATT 944 - 01/19/11 03:52 PM
I don't see this addressed in the book. What if I put a standard phone on one of the lines? Preferably line 1. Does it mess up the intercom or anything else?
Posted By: dtmf Re: ATT 944 - 01/19/11 04:17 PM
No it would work fine ,it just eats up wire length. But why put in single line sets with it? You would be better off using the 4 line sets so they have the features.
Posted By: dexman Re: ATT 944 - 01/19/11 06:06 PM
Actually standard telephones will cause problems with some of the features of NoKSU telephones (Hold for instance). Also, the signal that is used to communicate between the sets would probably be heard as a high-pitched whine on a SLT.