Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#108630 10/23/08 06:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Does anyone know if a printer can be installed directly to the SX-50 without having to go through a separate call accounting device?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#108631 10/23/08 07:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,985
Moderator-Mitel, NEC, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Mitel, NEC, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,985
Yes, you can get raw SMDR off the serial port if enabled. Keep in mind it is raw data, no ability to calculate.

#108632 10/24/08 10:16 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
It will show you several things, though. Start time and length of call. Ext that made the call. Number called. And trunk used. Altho I haven't any idea how to do it, I've been told that using Excel or other spread sheet application, will let you sort by, phone number, ext, length of call, etc. Of course, it won't price the calls. John C.


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
#108633 10/25/08 09:03 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 196
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 196
If you want to do what Lightninghorse is suggesting, you'll need to log the SMDR to a computer file using Hyperterminal or some other terminal emulator. When you close the log and save it to a file, what you have is a simple ASCII text file that you can import into a spreadsheet program to sort, select, or run calculations to price the calls.

It's even possible to feed the data a printer while you're trapping the log to a file. Just use a serial data transfer cable that has both DB9 and DB25 connectors on each end. One goes to the printer, the other to your laptop (you'll need a null modem adapter for one or the other) and you get the SMDR at both devices.


Harry at Telecom Equipment & Consulting
Specializing in Mitel systems for the Hotel/Motel industry
www.TECHarry.com
#108634 10/25/08 10:08 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
And by the time you dedicate a computer to the task, buy the software, and mess with it daily, you've bought a pricing device! It's just easier, more reliable (You don't have to restart the computer after a power glitch and/or buy a ups.), and prices are built-in.
And I'll bet Harry, or Sundance, can provide just what's needed! John C.


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
#108635 10/31/08 12:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 22
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 22
however if you don't need the feature to price and mark the call up, just being 'big brother', you can probably find an old unused pc (you don't need much) and a terminal program (plenty of freeware ones). And walaa, you have a virtually free capture device instead of buying a C/A package.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,737
Posts636,402
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
effedisk, hellbender, Pat Amaral, Zip
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Michael1948), 29 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5