EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
vpnproxymaster
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Turn your commission checks on autopilot with 50% RECURRING COMMISSIONS!
Flexibits
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing with Getresponse
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing. [2]
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18
TBoyd Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18
I have been recruited to fix numerous problems at a small resort. The system is a Mitel SX-200 ( I don't know the series - maybe an EX?)

I am very experienced at shooting physical troubles & all those are now cleared. There are several extensions that are dead at the switch. After checking the amphenol connectors at the back of the 2 cabinets, it is clear that water had gotten on the cabinet backs some time ago, because 2 of the amphenol connectors are BADLY corroded. I did what I could to clean them up - with no improvement. All the dead extensions are connected through those 2 connectors. I don't know how, but others in the same are still functioning.

I have a plan to fix this mess without replacing the switch. There are 4 total unused amphenol connectors on the back that are not corroded - 8 DLC slots are vacant. Assuming the DLCs are still good, they could be moved to the vacant slots & reprogrammed/activated. I am going to try to locate another tech that can do this, as my skills on programming are limited.

Any suggestions on this plan & how to coordinate programming & moving of the DLCs? You can't program a vacant slot - a DLC must be present - correct? There are no spare DLCs around.

Thanks.

Advertising Sponsor
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 339
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 339
You can program a port without the DLC present or if possible do a move command. A tech with Mitel programming experience should have no problems with your scenario unless the DLCs are damaged due to the corrosion you found.

The most helpful (best practice) thing to do is a cut sheet with all info on the current DLCs including physical location on terminal blocks and then the same info from where the DLCs will be relocated along with corresponding physical location on the terminal blocks.


Jon


"It is better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than open it and remove all doubt"

Mark Twain
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
Truly, I would try to find a replacement cabinet. The problems are probably going to get worse. Hint: Empty cabinets are pretty cheap on E-bay. So are demo/training systems. As long as the part number on the cabinet is the same, you shouldn't be down for more than an hour. BUT, Take pictures and make drawings and mark the cables BEFORE YOU START!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18
TBoyd Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18
Thanks much for the suggestions. E-bay is a good idea. If I replaced only the cabinet, would program settings remain intact - with no need for programming?

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
Replacing the existing cabinet with an identical part number cabinet will work just fine. Everything will be 'in there', like Prego. smile Unless there is some other hidden damage. Can't imagine how/what, but strange things do happen to water-damaged equipment, from all makers.


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,125
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,125
LightningHorse is correct. All of the programming lives in the Processor card, which is the one that has a CF card sticking out of it(Or a place to put a CF card). If you re-install it within, say 3 or 4 weeks, it should keep all programming.

Still, if there has been water exposure, you may want to check and make sure that the little piece of paper (called a MOSS sheet) is still in the cabinet. It details all the options, and if the system ever became "defaulted" (or you had to change a processor) that paper would be worth its weight in gold.

One caveat here: The DNIC cards can be pulled out "Hot" but do not try that with processor or control cards.

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,132
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,132
I don't know if it is the main cabinet, or really what system varient, yes it looks newer. Replacing the cabinet is good. Of course depending on how its connected, you may be able to use an older one.

If it's the main cabinet on a ML/EL system, first thing I'd do would be to get a copy of form 4

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,125
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,125
Always a good idea.

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,057
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,057
PM Sent!


www.ResaleSystems.com 24 x 7 Mitel Parts and Free Tech Support

Link Copied to Clipboard
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,431
Posts639,813
Members49,470
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
daleturb, GaryWJC, Mark F
Newest Members
AndreLS, JimLafleur, EssKayKay, xmestedex, PhoneGuy007
49,469 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 14
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
14 members (pvj, Curlycord, justbill, Professor Shadow, RUSS K., BrianS, teldata1, JBean3329, BobRobert, Skunky, BezLovesITAD, telecom guy10, Meyery2k, ffej010), 106 guests, and 75 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud