Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#176171 05/25/11 11:26 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Is there a way to reset all ports back to the physical DN. i thought they all went back on a system reset but that is not the case.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

#176172 05/25/11 01:21 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 274
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 274
I believe the phones have to be logged out using the "virtual mask logout" at the individual phone to get back to the physical DN. Don't know of another way to do it but never tried either.


TG

Moderated by  SSPhone 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,968
Posts637,416
Members49,704
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
RATHER BE FISHING, usatelecomservices
Newest Members
Acme Finishing, jim gray III, Merenth, Service Tech 911, Stephen A
49,703 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
vvbasti 11
Toner 9
mfecko 6
jsaad 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (tech3500), 143 guests, and 30 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5