Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
I'm getting static noise in the voice mail and all system messsages (calls are clear). The other day system messages were clear, here is what has changed since yesterday.
1.) We added a Polycom Soundstation to the analog line that was previously installed.
2.) We had a good thunder/lightning storm come through last evening.

Regarding 1.) I unplugged the Polycom and still get the static in the system messages (calls are clear).

The obvious guess is that the Polycom has caused a problem? Does anyone know why it would cause the noise in the system messages?

Thanks

GA
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 728
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 728
Is your system grounded??????

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,914
Likes: 1
Administrator
Offline
Administrator
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,914
Likes: 1
Have you reset the system and voicemail?

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks for the follow-up.

It is grounded. I'm not sure to what, the installer ran the ground wire into the ceiling structure.

Have not tried to reset the system. Is this just yanking the cord, or is there a specific way to reset?

Thanks

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 340
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 340
Yanking the cord works as well... or flick the power switch on the system.


Shawn
Absolute Communications, Inc.
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,271
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,271
If you have an inskin voicemail, you might want to shut it down first before powering off the cabinet.

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 728
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 728
I would try to follow the ground cable and make sure it is attached to something that actually is connected to the building ground. I had a system that had a BRI card in it and we had complaints of Static when that card was used. Come to find out the grounding cable was connected to a piece of steel in the ceiling but was covered with paint and not actually touch the steel. Stuff like that will drive a tech nuts when they have tested everything but checked the grounding.

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Good advice. I had done nothing at this point, even waited to try a restart until I knew the tech was on the way (just-in-case).

This I listened this morning and the static was gone. I had thought we had this problem once before a while ago, and maybe at our old location. At that time it did it for maybe a day, I didn't have time to address the issue then, but when I checked again it was clear so I had put it out of my mind.

I cancelled the service call, and asked if they knew what might cause it to have static then clear up. They said they would run it by a tech to get back to me. The ground is in the ceiling so it's not readily available to check.

The Polycom on the analog jack has been unplugged since the trouble was noticed, in case it was the cause. Does anyone think that a problem with the Polycom or analog line would cause the static?

I'd like to hear what you all think before I plug ithe Poly in again. I'd hate to do some permanent damage. From what I was told the analog is ready to go with the polycom, we had the power-plug at the time of instal, but had to find a replacement phone.

Thanks.

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,436
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,436
Since the problem is only on VM and system messages, I'd think the VM would be suspect. If outside calls are OK, it's an internal problem.

Can't see how the Polycom would cause trouble for anything but extensions on that analog card, so plug it in and try it.

What kind of VM and outside lines do you have?


Joe
---
No trees were harmed as a result of this posting; however, many electrons were severely inconvenienced.
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
I've had the polycom plugged in since Monday and no trouble thus far. Last time the problem came up overnight (along with the t-storms).

Looks like the Poly is in the clear, but need to check the ground.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/07/21 01:00 AM
Samsung DCS power failure
by Telesystems - 03/06/21 09:55 PM
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/06/21 05:09 PM
Old Equipment Plan
by MarkAtLMFJ - 03/05/21 04:41 PM
OS 7400 OAS
by John807 - 03/05/21 04:21 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,290
Posts639,121
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
[email protected], norb, quartra
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 32
Ruben 25
pvj 14
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
17 members (JBean3329, justbill, hitechcomm, nfcphoneman, dexman, Retro-Phones, sketchypro, pvj, bditech, Yoda, MooreTel, BobRobert, nameless, Touch Tone Tommy, Silversam, hbiss, sundance), 140 guests, and 39 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners