web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I have Starplus STS and I am trying to deploy Asterisk to work with it. Did anyone here do it?
Potential problems, suggestions, is it possible at all? Even though I use STS for 3+ years (can make changes in programming myself for the most part) and play with Asterisk for quite a while I am still very new in telephony. My reasoning for such project is: save my investments into Vodavi equipment, have Vodavi stuff as my back up. Since I am just starting I will have lots of questions...Thanks in advance to those who can help!

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

What is the reasoning to using an IP system in the first place? The STS (for the most part) is a rock solid product for a business application that is not in need of IP features. If you are looking for a true replacement for a digital key system, I believe the Asterisk will fall short for you. However, you could make it work. For deploying it alongside the STS I have not herd of that, but others here can probobly help you out more.

Steve

Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
Welcome to the board, Oleg! I don't think you'll find a lot of help for configuring the Asterisk on this site. Most of the participants on this site are telecom professionals and quite frankly, don't have the time to mess with Asterisk.

However, you could use a couple of ATA's (Sipura, Cisco, etc...) to connect to a CO port on the STS. Good luck.

OP Offline
Thank you for all answers / opinions.