EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
vpnproxymaster
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Turn your commission checks on autopilot with 50% RECURRING COMMISSIONS!
Flexibits
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing with Getresponse
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing. [2]
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
OP Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
I got an emergency call to go help this woman lawyer who had AT&T drop her dial tones off in her suite but the guy couldn't hook up the system.

I've done the DS1000 3x8/6x16 with the 22 button phones and these phones looked identical but the box was a 5 slot deal with a processor, a station card with 4 RJ45 jacks on the bottom, a CO card with 3 RJ45 jacks on the bottom, a station card with 4 RJ45 jacks on the bottom and an empty slot

I made a cable with four phones using pins 4&5, 3&6, 2&7 and 1&8 and the phones came up just fine.

I did the same for the four COs but no matter which of the 3 jacks I plugged them into did I get dial tone on the phones so they evidently don't come up on a ksu that has been stored for a year or so.

I called a dealer that sells the DSX and he came over and said he doesn't program this system. I called an NEC friend, described the cards and he says it is not something he works on.

This poor woman is trying to run her office on a cell phone having given up on a Ring Central VOIP system that was so bad she couldn't live with it and went back to AT&T and is now really stuck.

The only people I know that do NEC say they don't work on this one and the phones and cabinet say NEC.

For sure, the phones look IDENTICAL to the phones I sold for a while that were the little 308/616 NEC that Graybar carried. They were a disaster and the rep finally told me to take them back to Graybar for a full refund.

That was more than ten years ago and I'm sure they are better now but I don't try to buy anything before a good shake out period.

So can anyone tell me what kind of NEC this woman has? NO Amphenol cables anywhere, just RJ45 connectors at the bottom of the circuit cards.

Thanks in advance, Bunnie


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,037
Likes: 2
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,037
Likes: 2
That sounds like a Nitsuko product from when NEC took them over.


[Linked Image]
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,125
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,125
Bunny -- I know a nitsuko guy, but he doesn't like them. He might give tech support. Stockton area:
(510) 728-0128

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
OP Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Found out what it is.

An OLD NEC/Nitsuko DS2000. I think Nitsuko made these for NEC and then NEC bought out Nitsuko, something like that.

The manual is about 800 pages.

What a nightmare.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction, never put one of these in or even saw one, just the 308/616 babies.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,640
Moderator-NEC
*****
Offline
Moderator-NEC
*****
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,640
The DS2000 is not too different then the DSX. You can use the DS2000 cards in a DSX.

If you get the programming cable and have a laptop it is would be a piece of cake to a DSX person.

The software is essentially the same as the DS1000 software.

The only issue I see is if it is a hardware problem, but of all of the DS2000s I put in I have never had a card go bad. I have only had the intramails go bad

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
Ive got quite a few out there and they hum a long trouble free .

Quote
The manual is about 800 pages.

What a nightmare.
no more a "nightmare " than any other system you're unfamiliar with

Ive found them to be feature rich and trouble free

might want to get someone familiar with it in to help you get up to speed on it

Quote
If you get the programming cable and have a laptop it is would be a piece of cake to a DSX person.
the earliest version didn't support PC programing but I agree the terminal software is the way to go once the system downloads the data , I usually hook the laptop up first and let it download while I'm getting other stuff done


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 91
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 91
Quote
Originally posted by Old blond hippity hopping Bunnie:
Found out what it is.

An OLD NEC/Nitsuko DS2000. I think Nitsuko made these for NEC and then NEC bought out Nitsuko, something like that.

The manual is about 800 pages.

What a nightmare.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction, never put one of these in or even saw one, just the 308/616 babies.
Bunnie, The easiest way to do what you described to me in your voice mail is to turn it down and remove the battery from the CPU, reinstall it, and the CPU, then turn back on. This will default the system and the default program should do everything she wants. If it doesn't work then you have hardware or a wiring issue.
I'll return your call later today

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 189
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 189
Bunnie, I have a very good friend in the LA area and he is familiar with most NEC type systems and the ones he isn't, he has me as support. If you need help, PM me with your direct info and I will put you in touch with him.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
OP Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Thank you all, when I got there this morning the first guy I referred her to and who said he couldn't program it, had gotten her working fine but never called and told me that.

Doug Nowlin of NEC, way back formerly my Samsung rep of the 816 & 56/120 days called to say that the DS2000 became the DSX on steroids.

Her system didn't have a voicemail but at least she has it all working and she can talk clearly and get AT&T voicemail on the lines and I can stop trying to rescue her and say thank you all.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 141
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 141
Can you use DSX cards in the DS2000?


Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,431
Posts639,814
Members49,470
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
DavidRM, Doodle, Evgeny_Russia, jwcdawg, Majestic, WJSimon
Newest Members
AndreLS, JimLafleur, EssKayKay, xmestedex, PhoneGuy007
49,469 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 13
hbiss 4
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
15 members (newtecky, Curlycord, nortelvoip, Silversam, justbill, jeffmoss26, hbiss, sundance, BrianS, pvj, Professor Shadow, RUSS K., teldata1, JBean3329, BobRobert), 137 guests, and 56 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud