Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
I've got one that's kicking my butt-- hopefully you smart guys can help. [Linked Image from sundance-communications.com]

I have a G1632 Comdial DSU (v 20A) with a Key Voice Corp Office Dos (v 8.2) with Rhetorex boards. The system will not reliably dial all digits of a phone number (usually a cell phone) when notifying of messages in the voicemail box. I figured that out by monitoring a SMDR port and noticing that all of the digits are not dialed. Also, random internal extensions are dialed when the failure occurs.

Any ideas? This system used to work ok, but now doesn't. I tried reloading an old COS setup into the DSU, and have tried several other vmail PC's and Rhetorex boards to no avail...

Thanks for any help!

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,550
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,550
Can the number be dialed from your butt set clipped onto the CO line that it's seizing when trying to dial out? Did you check for toll restriction on the extension? Did you check for toll restriction in the voicemail?

------------------
[Linked Image from sigcomsys.com]
| Signal Communication Systems - Fresno, CA |

| Telephone Systems, Voicemail Syste... & Data Cabling - Central Valley, CA

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Yes, the number can be dialed directly from the CO line. I haven't checked for the toll restrictions, but it will sometimes dial the complete number and the call will go through... Doesn't that preclude the toll restrictions? I do appreciate the reply!

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Maybe the voicemail is dialing too fast for the KSU to keep up. Have you tried monitoring the vm ports with a buttset when the vm does the outbound notification?

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
The VM ports are IVPC (digital) ports so I can't do that. (Right?) Do you know a way to slow down the dialing on the Key Voice system? Thanks!

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 395
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 395
Have you tried running defrag on the VM?? I bought a new butt set the other day because I hadn't had any neat new toys for awhile. It is the LIL'BUTTIE RANGER by U Test-Um, Model LB255. In monitor mode it will detect and display all 16 DTMF tones being dialed on the CO line. Alot easier than transporting my other digit grabber toy around. With problems like this I always ask myself, what happened and what changed to make it stop working?

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,550
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,550
Slowing it down is not really possible. You could try adding a pause at the beginning of the dialing string. Double check what it is set to dial for outbound calls. Usually it is set to 9, (nine comma) but it depends on your programming. I can't remember off the top of my head where to find this in VM, but it should be easy to locate in there.

I was thinking monitoring it on the C.O. that it grabs, while it is dialing. I figured they were digital ports and couldn't be monitored right on the station port, so this is your next best option.

Here are some scenarios that would be worth checking into...

1. Voicemail is not allowing time for the phone system to grab a line before it starts dialing the number. Voicemail should be doing something like dialing 9, then pausing before dialing. See my comment above on checking this.

2. The phone system has a non-existent line in the line group that is being grabbed when dialing out. If someone else were on this line (attempting to dial out), the next call would go through as it would be grabbing a working line. This might explain the occasional successful notification.

3. You have a dead line in the line group. The explanation in #2 would mostly apply.

4. You have one or more of your LINES or one or more of your VM ports (in the DSU) toll restricted, which could explain the intermittent problem. Do a line printout and station printout of your VM ports to check for toll restriction. To test for toll restriction on LINES, you could manually access individual lines from a digital phone and dial your notification phone (cell or pager) number, exactly as VM is dialing it, from each line.

5. One or more of your lines requires an account code or additional 9 before calling out. Test this by calling the number from each line, as described in #4.

Check on those. If that still doesn't find and fix the problem, I'm sure we can still help point you in the right direction.

Let us know how it goes. Thanks!

------------------
[Linked Image from sigcomsys.com]
| Signal Communication Systems - Fresno, CA |

| Telephone Systems, Voicemail Syste... & Data Cabling - Central Valley, CA

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Some very good ideas here-- I will try them on Monday and let you know... Thanks!


Moderated by  5years&counting 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,878
Posts636,995
Members49,671
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
maggiomail, phreak2599, wew72717155
Newest Members
XJR9000, BitBang, MediaComposerMan, TAK, stebimi
49,670 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
teleco 6
dexman 5
jsaad 5
Shahza 4
tim10 4
Who's Online Now
3 members (stwtech, bretthaze, jonnycom), 144 guests, and 24 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5