Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 405
bditech Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 405
I have a DX 120 and has pots lines and when calls are put on hold when the person answers the call might get droped and some times the night ringer will ring but phones wont. Has a Viking PA 2A for night ringing lines hooked in the Viking.
Have put a new DX 120 ouch and reground the system.
They are about 10 miles from local telco office.

Thanks for all response
I hope someone has an Idea Comdial are scratching there heads have changed the hold to 0 and hold recall to 0 :toast: you all.

GA
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,030
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,030
Likes: 1
Changing the hold recall to zero caused lines CO lines to drop on pre F19 release. Look at the latest SRN and upgrade if you aren't at F19.


[Linked Image]
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 405
bditech Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 405
Thanks i will check that out. Wonder why comdial techs didnt mention that. Also do you have a sugestion on the PA 2A ringing and not the phones. This is away from the central office.

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Is there an actual call coming in when the PA-2A rings?

Justin

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 405
bditech Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 405
yes they see the lights on the phone. And the hold thing is really strange.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 194
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 194
Quote
Originally posted by RATHER BE FISHING:
Changing the hold recall to zero caused lines CO lines to drop on pre F19 release.
At least it wasn't my imagination. I had a customer that needed to keep some clients on hold while they researched their accounts. They could keep a call on hold indefinitely with the DXP. but only five minutes with the DX-120 and it would go off to voice mail after the max of five minutes. I set it to zero and after five minutes the call would disconnect - they preferred that over having the caller be sent to VM.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Old Equipment Plan
by MarkAtLMFJ - 03/05/21 04:41 PM
OS 7400 OAS
by John807 - 03/05/21 04:21 PM
Pair location
by backenhiemer - 03/05/21 10:44 AM
Coaxial Cable
by dexman - 03/04/21 03:53 AM
Netlink or CCIS
by Yoda - 03/02/21 02:32 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,285
Posts639,076
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Celtic-mfg, darthbgp, STCnuob
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 25
Ruben 23
pvj 11
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
25 members (ffej010, SSPhone, John807, MarkAtLMFJ, pvj, justbill, High Mesa Communications, KRRath, Carl Navarro, Ruben, dexman, Motohead, Coral Tech, metelcom, backenhiemer, Yoda, MooreTel, hitechcomm, BobRobert, Skunky, EV607797, Touch Tone Tommy, Mercenary Roadie, Bob3470, hbiss), 307 guests, and 53 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners