Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#40035 11/12/08 08:41 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
ngibson Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Hey guys,

Got a bit of an interesting problem, I hope you can help me out - we've been pulling our hair out trying to find a solution to this and Comdial tech support hasn't had much to say except for changing boards out.

Here's the setup:

FX-11 96
Release: 198 or later
Feature set :17F
Services board: Srv3-11

As for boards, we've got:
S1: FXLST08
S2: FXVOIP-l
S3: FXLDS-16
S4: FXLDS-16
S5: FXLDS-16
S6: FXISTM-c16

The system is forwarding calls through the voip-l board to a hosted mp5000 system, then goes out through a pri in the colo. Except for the IST ports, which grab onsite copper lines.

And the problem:

Whenever a fax is sent in this particular room, with 6 digital extensions around it, it silences the call on ports 5 and 41 - which are on either side of the fax machine.

We've done this much so far in troubleshooting:
Changed the cabinet (we had a shipment of crap equipment at one point) - the problem disappeared for about 3 days then popped back up.
Changes Services board
We moved 41 out of that room, and replaced it with one on the same board as pt 5. The problem disappeared for about 3 days. Changed out port 5 to another port - that port then started to show the same problems.
We have changed out the IST board, port, moved it to another physical cable, still remained on those same ports.
Changed out digital board those stations are on and the services board.
We've changed out the fax machine with no luck.

Any help with this problem is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Nathan

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Offline
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Take your services board out and ensure all daughter boards are fully seated and all the screws are tight! Don't forget the standoffs!!

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
ngibson Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Yep, that was one of the first things I had checked. They are all tight, and all there.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,089
Likes: 9
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,089
Likes: 9
I'd bet on a bad SRV3 board. I had a few.


[Linked Image]
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
i am with the bad srv3 board. Swap it and see what happens.


Jim Hoey

SST Communications
597 West Montauk Highway
Lindenhurst, New York 11757

631 956-0100

www.sstcom.com

Business telephone systems on Long Island and New York City like Comdial, Vertical, Avaya, Panasonic
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
Oh yeah. What color is your cabinet. Black or Grey?


Jim Hoey

SST Communications
597 West Montauk Highway
Lindenhurst, New York 11757

631 956-0100

www.sstcom.com

Business telephone systems on Long Island and New York City like Comdial, Vertical, Avaya, Panasonic
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
ngibson Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
It's a black cabinet.

We've changed the services board - was the second piece we changed out when this started happening. We had another problem (before I changed the cabinet out) of a group of digital phone lcd displays going blank when calls were answered - that turned out to be a power issue with the cabinet, which led me to believe these two issues were related. But the services board was changed out after the cabinet was replaced.

I reread my first post and realized I didn't add that in there.

We'll try it again, just awaiting a shipment on some new parts for stock.

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Is this a new install or relocation, or did this issue just start happening at an existing site with the original equipment? If it is a newly installed system, you may want to check the cabling at the MDF. It sounds like everytime call comes in, the issue occurs which sounds like a direct short causing an issue either on the card or the backplane. Since the hardware is not solving the problem, I thought this would be another elimination step in resolving other potential issues. Let us know how this turns out, and good luck.


TechSERV
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
ngibson Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
It's a newly installed system on existing cabling.

A short is what I was beginning to believe as well, maybe a tail of a wire touching the jack or the box in the wall.

We've had another tech onsite doing some more testing today, I'll let you guys know what he did and the results when he arrives.

Thanks for the input so far everyone!

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
"Existing Cabling"!!! Ouch. I think you just found your problem. I would check all the jacks where new phones are installed to make sure there wasnt any rigging done from the previous system install such as looping or modem sharing, etc. Looking forward to the outcome on this one.


TechSERV
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,639
Posts635,913
Members49,591
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
INFORMACOM, TVCTech, joe angi, TommyKay, 電信小吳
49,590 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 8
Toner 7
dans 6
Yoda 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Yoda), 29 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5