web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#442670 05/09/05 03:09 AM
OP Offline
Hello all,

I'm new to this thing and I'm having problem troubleshooting an installation.

Here's the setup:

Incomming line from Bell Canada's demarc to a front plug of an IBDN qcbix1a. In the back is the GW\WG pair going to a wall jack. GW\WG pair is connected to the wall jack using the red and green wire of a RJ11.

This setup works correctly (it's the internet connection, Bell's aDSL. )

Right next to the GW\WG connection in the bix is a BW\WB connection, which is wired to the wall-jack right next to the previous one, and the BW\WB is connected to the wall jack in the same fashion. This is the fax wall jack.

The fax just doesn't work. I know that I should have a connection between the GW\WG and BW\WB pair to make it work. When I punch a pair between the to connector's at the punch-down block, it doesn't work.

How should I wire those to make it work.

Thanks in advance.

------------------
David 'NetShaman'

David 'NetShaman'
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

#442671 05/09/05 10:15 AM
why dont u get a 1/1 line splitter stick it the jack 1 that works and plug existing item in 1 and the fax in 2

#442672 05/09/05 01:08 PM
DSL here in USA uses a small filtering splitter that one plug attaches for DSL and other connects to fax or other none DSL equipment.

------------------
Voice and Data Cabling in DFW, [email protected]
DnR Communications

Voice and Data Cabling in DFW, [email protected]
DnR Communications
#442673 05/09/05 01:23 PM