web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
OP Offline
The forum is great so far. I am getting response, that is very important.

I am a computer consultant located in New York, I also do work in New Jersey area.

I am looking to learn about telephone cabling and eventually telephone systems.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

OP Offline
I thought it would be an easy answer.

For example, there are 25 cables coming from all over the office. Each of the cable have 4 twisted pair. I want to find out how to connect the twisted pair from each cable to the 66 block so it can be connected to the PBX by the phone guys.

I understand the 25 color coded pair, there are 4 clips on each row, briding clips are used to connect the left to the right.

I am not sure what to do with those 25 cables, where do I connect them to on the 66 block.

The thing is, it's not as simple as just knowing the colour code, or what order to punch the cables down. If this is your first kick at doing this sort of thing, even with help from guys on this board, your terminations are going to look nasty. The phone guy is going to be a lot happier if you just let him do those terminations himself. Pay him for the extra half hour, watch and learn. Honestly, you will not be doing him any favours by terminating those cables yourself. It will take you 5 times longer to do it, and there's a good chance he may have to fix your mistakes anyways.