web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#447069 09/23/07 02:29 PM
Euqnis Offline OP
OP Offline
I currently live in Kansas City, MO and own a company on the side of my main job. I work as a cable technician at a very large corperation along with 3 of my employees (that work with my side company).

We have over 20 years cabling experience between us including but not limited to wallfishing cable, telephone, data cable, video, etc.

We are wanting to move my side company into the field of prewiring cable, phone, data, video, and sorround sound cabling in houses that are being built around our area.

My question is this, iv been looking into the permits/licences needed to do this and have found some information (planning on calling the county tomorrow). What i want to know is, do we need a electricians licence to do this? I know its LV, which is why i ask... does it vary county to county? None of us are certified electricians, I am a trained but not certified fire inspector, and am very familiar with building construction and building codes.

Yet, i dont have the time to apprentice 4000 hours, goto school for 500 something.

Do I HAVE to have that certification??

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Euqnis Offline OP
OP Offline
I read under"Low Voltage Licence?" below, and it seems that a full out electricians licence isnt nesissary (PLEASE CORRECT ME IF IM WRONG). Just LV permits depending on your area.