Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#449612 09/09/08 07:51 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 694
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 694
I have 2 Allied Telesis media converters hooked into a network, and all the lights are green, both link and flashing activity, but the far end gets the Limited or no connectivity message from the network adaptor. The signal comes from a Linksys 48 port switch, into the media converter, over the fiber, into the far end converter, and then into a netgear 8 port switch. I tried to use a laptop directly into far end converter, but it would not get an ip address and then I got the same message as above. The computers are all set to obtain an ip automatically on both sides of the fiber, so it is not a static ip issue. If I bypass the converters with a long(500 feet at least) cat5 it works just fine, although a little slow. Any ideas what I am missing?


Shawn
Connect Telecom www.connecttelecom.us
In matters of style, swim with the current. In matters of principle, stand like a rock. Thomas Jefferson
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#449613 09/09/08 08:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,939
Likes: 2
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,939
Likes: 2
Does the fiber type match that of the media converters? When you order this type of Allied Telesys product, they ask you to specify not only the connector type (ST or SC), but the fiber media as well (MM or SM).

Allied Telesys uses part number logic that will make it obvious as to what you've got.

The point is that you could have boxes that are mis-matched for each other or--more likely--units designed for the type of fiber that you're not actually using!

What are the unit's part numbers and what color is the jacket on the fiber feed, orange or yellow? You might also need to flip the fiber pairs at one end only.

And I almost forgot! If I remember right, there are one or two pushbutton switches on the front of these units. Make sure both of them are in the non-test mode.


"Carry others as you climb" -- Tim Alberstein
#449614 09/09/08 10:19 AM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
make sure the fiber is connected correctly so the transmit on one end is going to the receive on the other, and vice versa. If these boxes have been in place for some time, and just stopped working, sounds like you might have a bad box.


Z-man
Avaya SME Authorized Partner
www.omniofficetech.com
#449615 09/09/08 06:56 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 409
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 409
I have ran into a similar problem in the past. Allied Telesis has an excellent tech line, once they answer it wink . If I remember correctly, one if not both of the devices needed to have the speed hard coded.
I can't remember what the model numbers of the ones we had trouble. We now use the next model up which handles everything automatically.


WWW.EmeryCommunications.com
Authorized SMB Avaya Business Partner
#449616 09/10/08 03:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 694
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 694
Thanks for the help, I got a hold of tech support and you are right DayTech, you have to tell the switch full duplex 100 meg on that port. The switch I was plugging onto was 10/100/1000 and the mc 101 can't handle that. They are sending me a fs-201-99 that auto negotiates the switch side and always sets the fiber side to 100 meg full duplex. Hope that works, sounds like it should.


Shawn
Connect Telecom www.connecttelecom.us
In matters of style, swim with the current. In matters of principle, stand like a rock. Thomas Jefferson

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,745
Posts636,432
Members49,622
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
cTopher, djmoutt, ffej010, Kenneth J McLean, telephonegunner, Tellink
Newest Members
noriod45, Levi1337, jackbeelerDCS, blentz, RockyTop
49,622 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
blentz 6
Toner 5
jsaad 5
dans 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (Bushmills), 245 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5