Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 115 1 2 3 4 5 114 115
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 38
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 38
[Linked Image from i23.photobucket.com]

Sorry for the quality (picture, not the work). This was on a Partner install I went to troubleshoot. The CG wanted everything connected to HIS patch panel. I didn't do the install, but went back to figure out why phones weren't working. Ended up billing the customer for 4.5 hours to make this as close to right as possible.


Brandon C.
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
This was before I got the okay to clean up one of our customers phone system and network cabling.

See where that DSL modem is located? Their wireless antenna is jammed up against the top. As soon as I moved it into the new cabinet and powered it on, I heard through out the office "We have wireless available?!" Dunno who's idea it was to put their access point inside a steel grounded box.

[Linked Image from img.photobucket.com]

[Linked Image from img.photobucket.com]

[Linked Image from img.photobucket.com]

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,033
Moderator-Toshiba
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,033
Quote
Originally posted by ngibson:
This was before I got the okay to clean up one of our customers phone system and network cabling.

See where that DSL modem is located? Their wireless antenna is jammed up against the top. As soon as I moved it into the new cabinet and powered it on, I heard through out the office "We have wireless available?!" Dunno who's idea it was to put their access point inside a steel grounded box.
OMG!

What moron would do that with wireless?! There's a difference between a little sloppy work and a non-working install. Nice pics!


- Tony
Ohio Data LLC
Phone systems, data networks, firewalls and servers in Central Ohio.
Some people aren't used to an environment where excellence is expected.
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 202
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 202
They either didn't care about the WiFi or they saw the antenna and goes HMMM, This must be an optional way to connect to my ISP.
People are so dumb sometimes!!!

Thanks,
Daniel

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
I like how that Linksys switch is sitting on the ground on its side and leaning on the water cooler.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
I just love how somebody went throigh the trouble and expense to install that recessed box then the friggin geek comes along and has his wiring and other junk thrown around so that you can't even close the damn door.

That's what happens when you use CAT5 for phone wiring. The CG's radar will home in on it and he will claim it. If that were all CAT3 he wouldn't even be in that box.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Walked into this a little while back:

[Linked Image from i236.photobucket.com]

[Linked Image from i236.photobucket.com]

Can you believe that this CG got more work from the customer?

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 356
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 356
I also usually keep my extra C4 & C5 110 connectors in a plastic bag attached to the 110 blocks. Other than that part of this install, I am happy to say the similarity ends there.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,033
Moderator-Toshiba
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,033
Quote
Originally posted by phonemeister:
Walked into this a little while back:

Can you believe that this CG got more work from the customer?
Ya' know, it looks like it started off as a clean and structured install... that went bad over time. The conduits are nice and the cables are tight coming out of them, but it looks like whoever patched and cross-cut just wanted to get outta' there in a hurry.

BUT

The hanging MoDem/Router/Switch is an amazing and immediate sign of a CG that doesn't care about standards. I see those all the time... I don't get it! Anyway, good find.


- Tony
Ohio Data LLC
Phone systems, data networks, firewalls and servers in Central Ohio.
Some people aren't used to an environment where excellence is expected.
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
And the customer is happy because it works and they did'nt have to hire an expense telephone man.

Page 3 of 115 1 2 3 4 5 114 115

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,414
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Charles Duffy, Station Specialties
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (justbill), 105 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5