Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Which fiber to use?
#456666 09/23/11 10:25 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
I have a customer that just purchased a second building.Distance = unknown (guess about 1 -2 miles)
They are having an electrical company run the span on the telephone poles. (They are working out al of the permissions)

Question. I know Single-mode would work hands down. But I am trying to determine if multi-mode would be a better option.
Is there any sort of "speed graph" that states for this "spec" of cable (OS3 for instance) with this wavelength running full duplex at 1 mile will have this expected bandwidth.

They seem to be in that grey (slate smile ) area where almost anything will work for them, the question is what will work best for the cost?

Or should I just concetrate on the media converter and spec the cabel to that? I know that can limit future growth.
Another option might be to use multiple pairs and split the traffic....would be more endpoints. Would like to achieve 10Gbs as an end result.


[Linked Image from i26.servimg.com]
TouchPoint Networks.

Serving the Northwest Since 1991
NEC Shoretel Zultys T3 Tadiran
Telephone Equipment Search
Re: Which fiber to use?
#456667 09/23/11 10:44 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,120
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,120
At that distance single-mode is really your only option.

Re: Which fiber to use?
#456668 09/23/11 10:58 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
From "Wiki":
Typical multimode links have data rates of 10 Mbit/s to 10 Gbit/s over link lengths of up to 600 meters.

So assuming the correct transmitter/recever, I can get 10 gig at 600 meters, what can I expect at 1200meters or 2 miles.

I can't find a calculator anywhere. Now it is becoming more of a "personal challenge" to find this out. I have determined that single mode will be the fail safe and that is what I plan on pushing. Thanks for reinforcing that.


[Linked Image from i26.servimg.com]
TouchPoint Networks.

Serving the Northwest Since 1991
NEC Shoretel Zultys T3 Tadiran
Re: Which fiber to use?
#456669 09/23/11 02:02 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,954
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Online Content
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,954
Now admittedly my data is a little old (as am I), but we never figured on 62/125 mm fiber delivering 10 gb at more then 100 meters. 50/125 MM fiber would do 10 gb at 300 meters - no more.

Single mode will do 10 gb at 10 KM.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Re: Which fiber to use?
#456670 09/23/11 02:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,120
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,120
600 meters is roughly 1800 feet, about 1/3 a mile.

MM is designed for short lengths, like 300 meters.

Re: Which fiber to use?
#456671 09/23/11 05:36 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 103
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 103
Just a question, what kind of fiber is Verizon FIOS.

I am being told that the FIOS network is entirely CO powered (lit) and that no powered repeaters are needed. Only power required is at the terminal at the customer location.

I find this hard to beleve as FIOS to 1 of my locations would be a 6 mile hop

Reason I ask is POTS in my area comes out of a CSV and requires AC power to operate, they do have a backup battery in the CSV but during the huricane we lost our POTS because the battery died. If FIOS is CO powered (except for the customer terminal) it would now be more reliable than POTS.

Remember when your telebhone was the only thing that worked after a big storm, it's no longer that way.

Re: Which fiber to use?
#456672 09/23/11 06:54 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,954
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Online Content
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,954
I've put in fiber runs that ran 100 kms (60 miles).

Needless to say, they were all Single Mode. I can assume then that FIOS is SM.


Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Re: Which fiber to use?
#456673 09/23/11 07:28 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 83
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 83
FIOS uses PON ( passive optical network) technology and runs over s.m. fiber. The only real concern a customer would have is keeping the ONT at their location powered up. Around here a CEV may contain FIOS network equipment, but it's only the splitters ( no power needed) and the fiber cross-connect field.

Re: Which fiber to use?
#456674 09/24/11 08:48 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
Quote
Originally posted by BillFlippen:
From "Wiki":
Typical multimode links have data rates of 10 Mbit/s to 10 Gbit/s over link lengths of up to 600 meters.

So assuming the correct transmitter/recever, I can get 10 gig at 600 meters, what can I expect at 1200meters or 2 miles.

I can't find a calculator anywhere. Now it is becoming more of a "personal challenge" to find this out. I have determined that single mode will be the fail safe and that is what I plan on pushing. Thanks for reinforcing that.
Forgive me for not having a solid source on this, but I either read or remember someone telling me that MM fiber shouldnt go over 2000ft.

I look at it this way. Single mode would not be wrong... Multi mode COULD be right or wrong? I would go with the safe bet for sure...


Z-man
Avaya SME Authorized Partner
www.omniofficetech.com
Re: Which fiber to use?
#456675 09/26/11 11:53 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Well after all of that, I find out that the new building that they are getting "down the street" is only 200 yards away. :bang:


[Linked Image from i26.servimg.com]
TouchPoint Networks.

Serving the Northwest Since 1991
NEC Shoretel Zultys T3 Tadiran
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Professor Shadow, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
NS1000 UM GREETINGS
by ronaldjamesh - 05/26/20 08:49 PM
SV9100 Blue
by conxtel - 05/26/20 03:35 PM
No UM audio
by ILE - 05/26/20 02:14 PM
KXTD816 ringing wrong extension
by ToshiGal75 - 05/25/20 06:02 PM
SV9100 with 10 digit DIDs on SIP
by conxtel - 05/22/20 08:58 PM
Who's Online Now
43 members (Professor Shadow, dexman, Curlycord, justbill, Yoda, nortelvoip, RATHER BE FISHING, Talbot, JBean3329, Mercenary Roadie, morephones, Touch Tone Tommy, Jeffrey Cohen, Butch Cassidy, DMontgomery, Ruben, Silversam, conxtel, pdxjim911, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, ronaldjamesh, dans, hbiss, Daniel, Memphisribs, Meyery2k, newtecky, tylan, CSB, ILE, Bezzor, westerntelephone, KRRath, mike b, erniejoey, gelehu, iatech3800, Rok1215, Droptop, Arthur P. Bloom, mongo5150, vicbob, phonman123), 594 guests, and 54 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics93,721
Posts635,864
Members49,288
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
abedalsalam, Curt Morehouse, Grayci, John G, pjnestor
Newest Members
Taulbs, nikauri, Darrel Mullins, fleming23, AKP
49287 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
Bob-o 14
ILE 9
hbiss 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners