Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 34 of 37 1 2 32 33 34 35 36 37
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 821
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 821
Just curious......but what does the age of the patch panel have to do with anything? If it is there and working.....why not utilize?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
Quote
works perfect now !
most of the pictures of ugly work posted here work perfect too. (at least the guys who put them in would say so )


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,106
Member
*
Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,106
Cheese 'n rice. He's taking a beatin! My suggestion would be to do it over,(on your own time) use the advise you learned here, and post new pics

And remember, an old patch panel is always better than a bix terminal.

Cat5E standards Never mention jumper wire.


Trump 2020
Proud 1 star member.
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,727
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,727
Likes: 2
Quote
Originally posted by 1864:
...And remember, an old patch panel is always better than a bix terminal.

Cat5E standards Never mention jumper wire.
Or 66, 110, etc


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,727
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,727
Likes: 2
Quote
Originally posted by 1864:
...And remember, an old patch panel is always better than a bix terminal.

Cat5E standards Never mention jumper wire.
Or 66, 110, etc


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 894
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 894
Quote
Originally posted by WiringSolutions:
Of course you can pretty much always find the key for said lock sitting on top of the can (or in the lock) so the only good it does is make it easier to get into without a screwdriver.
i have seen alarm panels with a neat little hook next to them labeled "alarm panel key"


Jay, a recovering IT guy
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 191
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 191
The jumper wire is Cat5e and you can run a gigabit network with bix. Bix uses the same IDC technology that is used on the backside of a patch panel. :thumb:

https://www.contact-directconnect.com/home_network.htm

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,346
Likes: 10
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,346
Likes: 10
What humors me is when I hear about telcos using jumper wire that is supposedly rated CAT5. OK, so let me get this straight:

You jumper a pair of 'Category Zero' pulp-insulated feeder cable that is 80 years old to another pair of an equally-old cable at a cross-connect box.

How is this going to improve a thing? Will this jumper speed things up?

Yes, I pretty much know the answer to my own question. This type of cross-connect wire is there for effect, as in alerting people as to the significance of the circuit. Red caps used to work, but people started getting sloppy.

Verizon isn't doing the jumper wire thing yet in these parts, but only time will tell.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Only rubes and trunkers make their own patch cords.

At my standard hourly rate of $120 per hour, I can't produce a $2 patchcord in one minute, and expect it to be 100% accurate. I prefer to buy the $2 patchcord, factory-made and tested, with the boots on the plugs.

Using a chunk of cable instead of flexible wire is a failure waiting to happen. The first thing I do when I inherit an installation is to change out all the home-made patchcords to factory-built ones as a precaution.

I've been doing this for 20 some years, and I'll let you know the next time I find a defective ICC patchcord. It will be the first time, too.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
"you can run a gigabit network with bix."
Sure it does, but not with your outdated 2 pair 10BaseT wiring...
Anyone who makes patch cables out of scraps of solid wire is wasting their time, and creating future problems.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Page 34 of 37 1 2 32 33 34 35 36 37

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,411
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
CapeTownCraig, David S McCullough, Deshmukh_San
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Yoda), 90 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5