Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#474171 11/27/06 08:44 AM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
...those devices that attach to an aerial drop.

Usually used in light weight installations from the pole to the eves of residential houses. Clamps directly on cable and has a loop that can be fastened to the structure.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#474172 11/27/06 08:54 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
I think you're talking about P clamps. Go to https://www.gmptools.com/nf/07380.htm for a picture.


Gary
#474173 11/27/06 09:00 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
PRS-6 "C" type wire hanger I get mine from Clifford of Vermont
https://www.cliffordvt.com/


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
#474174 11/27/06 09:30 AM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
Those are the ones.

thank you.

#474175 11/27/06 10:35 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,704
Likes: 9
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,704
Likes: 9
Just make sure you get the right P clamp for the drop wire you're using.


Retired phone dude
#474176 11/27/06 02:46 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
RG6 quad shield ?

#474177 11/27/06 03:38 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
RG6 would have to be figure 8 cable that takes a different clamp


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
#474178 11/27/06 03:51 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,704
Likes: 9
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,704
Likes: 9
I have made my own for RG6 if you can't find them. Just take some #12 soft solid ground wire and "basket weave" a loop on the cable. Works well and cheap. As Merritt said don't use Telephone drop wire P clamps on RG6.


Retired phone dude
#474179 11/27/06 07:53 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,390
Hmmm.

I just took a look at my telco and coax drop onto my house and they both are using the same type of clamp... Is there something im missing?

What will happen to the coax (eventually) if the wrong clamp is being used?

Thanks bill for the tidbit. I will be using your method on thursday.

~r

#474180 11/27/06 08:01 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,279
Likes: 5
The PRS-6 are wedge type clamp that will squish the coax I have used them on the carrier but they slip easy


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  EV607797 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,739
Posts636,410
Members49,616
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
David Gillish, jkdawsey, kitjr123, MP Telecom, stephen1905
Newest Members
Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948
49,616 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 9
jsaad 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 64 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5