Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#474503 09/13/07 08:10 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
ok so all of my friends do some partying in this herb shop my friends mom used to run. now its just a building that we party in. well it used to have a seperate line running to it and then from that seperate line there was ONE telephone back at his house which is like 837ft. away that rang incase no one was at the shop. i used a probe to see if it ran back to the shop but it seems that i cant find it. i finally found the shop wires they are connected to what seems to be an old telephone pole cut at about 3-4 ft up. the wires are just chilling there. we want to tap the shop line into the dsl line thats outside his house.

there are like 8pair extra wires that just come out of the ground in his dmarc. plus the 3 pairs that goto line 1 (home) line2(assuming old shop) and dsl. since i dont want the phone guy to come out even if he will. (we live way out in the country and our phone company is a legal monopoly) there are 3 green teleco pole/boxes by his house... only house for a good distance. one in front of his house, one in front of the shop next to old telephone pole, and one across the street from the one in front of the shop.

what im asking is how do these work and should i be able to probe the line 2 and look at these boxes to find where its at and then run it back into the old shop wires. i also have a feeling that the shop has another set of wires in one of these green teleco boxes and someone just didn't want to pull up or disconnect the old wires on the pole.

GA
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,552
Likes: 1
Member
****
Online Content
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,552
Likes: 1
The 3 green telco boxes between the houses belong to telco. To connect the pairs between the buildings would be stealing, so "like" we're not going to tell you how to steal.


Retired phone dude
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
how would that be stealing... honestly the only reason i want to do this myself is because. one) i love doing this stuff and 2) the phone company isn't gonna be able to come out TODAY sothat its ready tomorrow.

maybe you think im trying to run a connection to some far off random place. its still on his property its adjacent to his house you can see both from each other and they used to have a line that went from the shop back to the house. but since they no longer had the shop business line or number when our phone company decided to bury the cables. the bastards just chopped the wire off and didn't connect it back how it used to be running to the house cause they figured no one would ever use it again.

so i have to suffer and shell out cash if they even make me pay but worst of all i have to give my time for them to fix something that should of already been done but they just wanted to shortcut and ASSUMED it wouldn't be used. i mean what if i didn't have a second phone line but we used it for an intercom system. and they just didn't hook the wires up. im thinking one of those sets of wires runs to the single connection inside of the pedestal outside of the shop and they just didn't splice it back with the wires that run to the NID of the shop.

i dont consider this stealing as i would consider it a favor... cause i would not be paying this and since they are a legal monopoly and have to do a bunch of dumb stuff its much easier to wrap them.

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,221
Admin
*****
Online Happy
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,221
those green boxes are private property of the teleco , the wire is also theirs. If all the buildings are on the same property then you should run your own wires between buildings. If you are trying to get DSL to work in two locations then you will need to run a Cat 5 cable off of the network to second location. Remember that all wires going from outside to inside a building must be protected so this is not a simple project.


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built in the last 10 years don't expect it to work right.
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
well i geuss its to the teleco we go then... since he doesn't have the money to shell out for a 1000 ft. of underground cable.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
it was probably a OPX (on premise extension ) that was being billed monthly for you to tap into it is stealing in that everything beyond each green box (demark) is telco property .

Quote
i dont consider this stealing as i would consider it a favor... cause i would not be paying this and since they are a legal monopoly
really doesn't matter that you don't consider it stealing . answer is you cant do it legally


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,712
Likes: 1
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,712
Likes: 1
Exactly as Skip said, it's an OPX. Your only option is you don't want to pay a monthy fee & be legal is to run that buried cable from the house (at the DMarc) to the building.

You either pay Telco by the month, or pay up front the big bucks.

If you want be a smart alec and try to steal the service, Telco will eventually find out and not only cut the illegal connection O/O/S, but also the house connection. Then there will most likely be disconnect fees, reconnect fees and probably fines. They may even charge for the service that you "stole" from the date they think you did it. Your choice.

Dave


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 149
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 149
I've heard a few stories of people running T1s through Bell's facilities, hush hush, just make the connection at the cross connect in the back of the office park and connect two offices together...

Closest I ever came to doing anything like this is I ran a T1 through the "house pairs" of an office building..from our office on the 8th floor to an office on the 1st..and I made sure to find out that the house pairs were owned by the landlord (who wouldn't care), not Bell. I'm sure Bell installed them but after divestiture they became the landlord's property.

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 68
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 68
Why not just use a wireless router? $50 and no problems with the man.


-Robert F
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,106
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,106
A $50 router wont shoot 837 feet reliably, at least I've never had good luck with it... but probably $200 in some wifi AP's and directional antenna's and you are good to go.

Hell, I know guys using the Primestar satellite dishes to beam wifi at each other for miles smile

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  EV607797, Professor Shadow 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Netlink or CCIS
by Yoda - 03/02/21 02:32 PM
SX200 ICP & ASU Bad ports
by Barrontel - 03/02/21 03:15 AM
NEC SV8100 Inmail Utility
by Sam Juniper - 03/01/21 11:02 PM
IP office and routing calling groups
by High Mesa Communications - 03/01/21 10:56 PM
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 02/28/21 09:51 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,281
Posts639,026
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
burkie, Gregg Hothem, HarryLeeSmith, Hey Mike, Pingebri, rroelfs
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
Ruben 21
pvj 11
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
34 members (sundance, nfcphoneman, advanced, justbill, Ruben, Daniel, dans, Harry76, BJW86, Yoda, hbiss, Steve Layton, Touch Tone Tommy, nonameyet, joshuacook, Iwatsu Guru, barnito, dexman, High Mesa Communications, KRRath, Professor Shadow, nortelvoip, Canteleco, jknichols, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, mongo5150, vicbob, HutchComm, MooreTel, metelcom, BobRobert, Carl Navarro, FoneJacker, Skunky), 566 guests, and 43 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners