Business Phone Systems

AtcomCloud Online Store
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#475088 06/27/11 02:20 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
meTom Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
I have a customer that has a 50 pair cable coming in from the street. A contractor accidently cut the cable. There are only three lines in use on the cable.
I thought that I coud identify the live trunks with my toner.
When I stripped back the insulation I found that the pairs were not twisted and the color code is completly different from anything I have seen.
My question is, is there an easy way to identify the live lines without stripping back each wire and going through the process of elimination?
That would take forever. Maybe some kind of tester like what electricians use for line voltage, the tester beeps when it senses voltage.

Thanks

Tom

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#475089 06/27/11 02:53 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
That cable belongs to the telephone company! Not on ly not your responsibility, it is off limits! The contractor should have called repair, he did it. NOW, you call the TELCO, rat out the contractor and get the cut fixed the correct, and might I add "LEGAL", way.


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
#475090 06/27/11 02:57 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Can you go to the BET and see what pairs are being used or tone back from there?

And is this the service providers cable or your customer?
Because if it belongs to the SP, you don't want to mess with it, but I doubt they would use non-standardized cable.


Avaya SMB Authorized Business Partner. ACIS/APSS
ESI Certified Reseller/Installer
www.regal-comm.com
#475091 06/27/11 02:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Sorry, I was typing while John was posting.
Good advise John. :thumb:


Avaya SMB Authorized Business Partner. ACIS/APSS
ESI Certified Reseller/Installer
www.regal-comm.com
#475092 06/27/11 03:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 82
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 82
Quote
Originally posted by Lightninghorse:
That cable belongs to the telephone company! Not on ly not your responsibility, it is off limits! The contractor should have called repair, he did it. NOW, you call the TELCO, rat out the contractor and get the cut fixed the correct, and might I add "LEGAL", way.
And at the CONTRACTOR'S expense.

And charge the contractor for loss of business suffered.

#475093 06/27/11 04:15 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,702
Likes: 7
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,702
Likes: 7
Don't know the rules over in your neck of the woods, but you'd get in big trouble here for messing with a phone company cable. Guess he should have called for a locate and have been more careful around the cable.


Retired phone dude
#475094 06/27/11 04:24 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 356
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 356
Recently at a job in Southern California, the general contractor asked me to move an entrance cable from one wall to the other. It would have required disconnecting the ground and "bullet" bond, disconnecting it from the protector, pulling back the cable, cutting off a piece of AT&T's conduit, and reinstalling it onto the protector. I told the general I would not do it and he would have to call AT&T. When the tech came out, he told the superintendent that messing with their cable is a violation and Homeland Security could be involved!!!!

#475095 06/27/11 05:39 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,332
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,332
Likes: 3
When I stripped back the insulation I found that the pairs were not twisted and the color code is completly different from anything I have seen.

Well yeah, after YOU stripped back the insulation. :scratch:

Don't be a typical electrician and think you can handle this. Like I always tell you guys- it's not your job!

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#475096 06/27/11 06:04 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Hal, apparently it's not our job either...I would not mess with at&t's cable even though I am sure I could do a much better job lol


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
#475097 06/27/11 09:29 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Quote
When I stripped back the insulation I found that the pairs were not twisted and the color code is completely different from anything I have seen. Is there an easy way to identify the live lines without stripping back each wire and going through the process of elimination?
I'll bet that the pairs are indeed twisted, otherwise it wouldn't work properly as a telephone cable. You probably have not exposed enough pairs to see the twists. Most telephone distribution cable is manufactured with very few twists per foot, to avoid adding unnecessary length (and therefore, more resistance and capacitance) to the pairs.


Do the wires have dots, stripes, etc? What are the color combinations that you see?

There are cables with odd-count, even-count, central office code, switchboard code, and other specialized codes. There are cables in which the pairs are all the same color.

We would love to see a photo of this non-standard cable. I have been working on cables for 45 years, and have yet to see one that I couldn't identify. Do you have the facilities to take a picture and post it here?

The short answer to your original question is "yes" there's a way to identify the pairs, but I suspect that you don't have the proper tools or experience to do it. As the other guys have correctly stated, it's not your job to fix it.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

#475098 06/28/11 06:43 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 399
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 399
Easy - you just need the LEC's OSP charts (I'm sure there is a better term for that), go back to the previous cross-connect point and put a tone on each individual pair and trace them that way!

In all seriousness, if you are using only 3 of the 50 pairs, there is a very good chance that that 50 count is bridged to multiple locations, and any fooling with it (shorting or letting it get wet) could affect up to 50 other subscribers. Contact the phone company ASAP to get it fixed right.

#475099 06/28/11 07:45 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
Quote
Originally posted by jeffmoss26:
Hal, apparently it's not our job either...I would not mess with at&t's cable even though I am sure I could do a much better job lol
so you feel your a better splicer than the trained guys from the LEC who do it for a living ?

:rolleyes:


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
#475100 06/28/11 09:04 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Skip, I never said that. I am just saying that any of us who do inside work could figure out this outside plant issue. Of course I realize it is the telco's responsibility so they should be the one to fix it, not the OP. Lighten up...


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
#475101 06/28/11 10:14 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,648
Likes: 8
Admin
***
Offline
Admin
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,648
Likes: 8
Geeze, I KNOW I'm not a better splicer that the LEC guys. I do one about every 3 years :-)

I also can't do it for less, because I have to buy my splice cases and materials one-at-a-time.
However, in the Spring, I can get 2 or 3 small count splice kits...as long as they're gone before October, I'm good. Skip, you don't have that problem, although I still think the shelf life of the kit is less than 6 months.

About 5 years ago I did an outdoor splice at a concrete batch house. I guess it still works because we replaced thier phone system last year and have not had any service either on the cable in 5 years or the phone system after the Spirit had flown.

I don't own a 3M MS-2 splice tool, and I don't want to. A 25 or 50 pair is still spliceable in a 2x12 enclosure. The enclosure comes with all the hardware and sometimes the potting compound. I keep remembering what a wonderful time I had doing 900 pair cables...it keeps me from wanting to ever do it again.

Carl

#475102 06/28/11 11:35 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Still no update or pix on the color code.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

#475103 06/28/11 03:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
Quote
Originally posted by jeffmoss26:
Skip, [b]I never said that. I am just saying that any of us who do inside work could figure out this outside plant issue. Of course I realize it is the telco's responsibility so they should be the one to fix it, not the OP. Lighten up... [/b]
sure you did Jeff , "I would not mess with at&t's cable even though I am sure I could do a much better job lol " your words , not mine


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
#475104 06/28/11 04:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
If you have seen any telephone room that at&t has worked in, then maybe you will understand what I meant...again this is not the point of the thread. If you have an issue with my post then PM me.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
#475105 06/30/11 09:04 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
I guess I shouldn't hold my breath waiting for the description or photos.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

#475106 07/01/11 05:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,332
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,332
Likes: 3
Nahh, he's gone, one post wonder. We didn't tell him what he wanted to hear so he either bull-headed his way at it or asked the same question on a sparkie forum where they gave him all kinds of useful "advice". We see it all the time, these are the guys who just can't say no when they see the possibility of making a buck. Doesn't matter that they know nothing, it just isn't in their genes to pass on it and refer it to somebody who does. They'll do anything just to bill the customer.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#475107 08/25/11 08:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 21
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 21
i think you shall use 20+1 or 10+1 pair cable,this would be better in FTTx solutions.and modules is easier to find

#475108 08/26/11 02:41 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 337
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 337
Im sure there are others but in 40 years the only other color code I remember was the Jap code on NEC and Hitachi crossbars. Something like blue, pink, green, 1 dot 2 dot 3 dot 4 dot. Thank God they were only 25 pr. or you would be counting dots all day.

#475109 08/27/11 10:58 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,722
KLD Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,722
Back after WWII the Japs made ball point pens and telephone OSP cable ... and it did NOT have our standard code. A lot of small independent telcos bought it CHEAP...and it's quality was CHEAP!

The Chinese response was similar to our old lead OSP counts...only ours was a larger count then a spare pair.

MY TWO CENTS


Ken
---------
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  EV607797 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,686
Posts636,176
Members49,606
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
cotton, JDK, jdkinney, Matt Knight, MCap, neh-telecom
Newest Members
Uranium-235, grahamw, Motel6Guy, JustAGuy, Dialtony
49,606 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 12
Yoda 9
dexman 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 47 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems & VoIP | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5