web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I have a 1970s-era AE "desk compact" (i.e., "keypad Starlite without the night light"). It was my rental phone (by the time I finally bought it out, as I recall, the buy-out price had dropped to about the same as a month's rent).

Twice, in the past few months, it has gone dead on me, while all other phones on the same line were fine. The first time, opened it up and cleaned all the contacts, and re-torqued most of the terminal screws, and at some point, it began working again. This time, I only got as far as opening up the handset before it started working again.

As a programmer, I know full well that the hardest thing in the world to diagnose is an intermittent problem. But can anybody point me at what to look for?

One other thing, that might be connected: when it does work (which is most of the time), it frequently sounds "staticy" for the first few seconds after being picked up.

Given that this has outlasted every other phone in the house a dozen times over, it's not something I'd care to throw out.

--
James H. H. Lampert
Professional Dilettante
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Back in the day, we used to firmly smack a carbon mic handset on the desktop to shake up the carbon in order get it to work again.

Oddly enough, I have amazed a few of my younger co-workers in recent days when having 'fixed' a non-working electronic handset by the same method.

Now I don't suggest you beat on this wonderful old phone, but you never know...

RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
I would look at the hookswitch