Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#480365 09/07/07 08:41 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
Member
*****
OP Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
Here at UT, I work on all the audio systems in the Student Union. A few weeks ago I needed to create a line out jack for one of our systems. I simply split the XLR cable going from the mixer to the amp, so one side goes to the amp and one side goes to a line out jack. However, when tested, the signal was not very loud. The mixer and amp are both old Altec Lansing units. I was wondering if using the Aux input/output would be better. The application for this is when they have meetings and the TV people need an audio feed for their camera. Previously they would just use a Mic splitter going into the mixer and to their camera, but with multiple channels being used it didn't seem like the best way to do it.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Telephone Equipment Search
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
Member
*****
OP Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
OK I tried another thing today. Instead of splitting it where it comes out of the mixer, I split it at the EQ. Maybe that will give it more gain.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
Member
*****
OP Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
Sorry, double post


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
Jeff haev you tried the Aux output, seems that would be the easiest solution.

Something else I have done is taken the output and brought that into a mixer (the kind a dj would use) as an input and then used the output of the mixer. The model I used had an output for your amp with leval control, and output for a dj both with leval control, and a record output which in a pinch could be used as an output to an amp.


I Swear I did not touch anything bash
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 539
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 539
Quote
Originally posted by jeffmoss26:
I simply split the XLR cable going from the mixer to the amp
Split as in just a direct parallel connection? If the XLRs are carrying a normal 600-ohm balanced line then that's to be expected due to the decreased load impedance.

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,106
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,106
Jeff,
Here at my school we have a Mackie40 (kinda big for our needs, but it's nice), we have 5 Controlled Monitors- do you have anything like that? We hook our cameras to it that way.


Kristopher
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
Member
*****
OP Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
Topher, on our portable systems we can do just about anything. We have all the aux sends and returns, main and monitor amps, etc. This one is a fixed install in a larger room. The equipment is pretty limited.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,221
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,221
Jeff a mixer as Anthony suggested would allow you to control the individual outputs or you can put an passive splitter on mixer output

splitters
direct boxes
mixer


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built in the last 10 years don't expect it to work right.
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
Member
*****
OP Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
We did think about putting one of our small Shure mixers (4 in 1 out) in line with this output and see if that makes a difference.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
Member
*****
OP Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,400
Likes: 1
Well here is an update.
I called RDL, the folks who make Stick-On adapters. They recommended that I use a Distribution Amplifier. This will properly split the signal out, so I do not have an impedance loss. This is why we had reduced levels. I am not sure if my boss wants to buy this, but at least we now have a solution.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE

Moderated by  metelcom 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Old Equipment Plan
by MarkAtLMFJ - 03/05/21 04:41 PM
OS 7400 OAS
by John807 - 03/05/21 04:21 PM
Pair location
by backenhiemer - 03/05/21 10:44 AM
Coaxial Cable
by dexman - 03/04/21 03:53 AM
Netlink or CCIS
by Yoda - 03/02/21 02:32 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,285
Posts639,096
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
ciccotelli, esinoob, Michael M
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 28
Ruben 24
pvj 11
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
23 members (sundance, EV607797, backenhiemer, newtecky, Coral Tech, hbiss, nortelvoip, justbill, dexman, Bob3470, kjwiewall, jeffmoss26, PortlandTech, Touch Tone Tommy, Mercenary Roadie, Professor Shadow, nfcphoneman, JBean3329, Ruben, hitechcomm, RM SYSTEMS, nameless, Memphisribs), 258 guests, and 40 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners