Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#487447 07/05/10 06:58 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Hi, I've got a WECo 118A ring generator which I want to use to boost the REN in my home system, hopefully to about 10. The question I have is how to wire it into the existing phone system. Is it as simple as punching down the output leads from the generator to the T/R of the house wiring as if it were common audible?

Thanks,

Bill Bentsen

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#487448 07/05/10 09:19 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
No, you'd have to install a relay to cut the 118 through after ringing has started, in cadence with the ringing cycle. Otherwise you'd just have constant ringing.

Just how many phones you trying to ring anyway?


Retired phone dude
#487449 07/05/10 11:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
check out Mike Sandman's site for the relay and you already have half the problem licked.

#487450 07/06/10 05:34 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
Take a look at RG-4/RG-204 here. https://www.vikingelectronics.com/index.php
Might be a little pricey for your application, but when you consider the cost and aggravation of cobbling up something on your own, CHEAP!


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
#487451 07/06/10 07:46 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
The problem is VoIP not producing sufficient ring energy, and then a lot of antique phones, all of which I want to ring.

I believe this will solve the problem:

https://www.vikingelectronics.com/products/view_product.php?pid=219

Thanks for the replies.

Bill

#487452 07/06/10 09:48 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,709
Likes: 10
Looks like that's the ticket for what you're trying to do. Like Lightning said better than cobbling something up.


Retired phone dude
#487453 07/06/10 10:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
Also I forgot to mention you would need a DC supply to allow tripping the ring on answer.


Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,826
Posts636,757
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Chad Hoffman, frankhines, jnawrocki
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
3 members (Toner, Coral Tech, dans), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5