Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 81
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 81
I've had 2 fail in the last two weeks.
Two different customers have had the same thing happen.
Advanced monitoring says the card is working.
Little check mark.
The card itself seems to reboot with it's watchdog over and over. The card flashes once, tries to load and then after a few seconds this starts over.
On the second system, it was 5.1, upgraded it to 6.1 and that didn't help. Replaced the card, and the replacement card immediately starts working.
Each was about 5 years old.
I'm used to rarely having the problem actually be the card as opposed to telco.


Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Did you test the circuit before replacing the module? I had a similar issue with an EL and a PRI. Windstream insisted the circuit was working. When I replaced the module, the circuit started to work, but then, after a week or two, would fail again. The last time it happened, I jacked in the T-Berd into the smart jack and the circuit started to work. What I saw was the circuit going in and out of sync, sometimes 10 times in a row. Of course, with the T-Berd in the circuit, the Mitel saw a good sync in the circuit.

The only way I could get the Windstream tech to fix their circuit was to have him come and see for himself. He mumbled something, went back to the CO. The circuit went down for a couple of minutes and then came back up. It has been working without error for a year now.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 81
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 81
I did not.
I wasn't involved with the 1st one that was replaced at a site about 2 weeks ago.
The second site, I just brought out a replacement card to the tech who had gone to site.
The only real testing done was with a loopback tester.
Failed to get a reaction from the card, looping to the smart jack made the smart jack happy.
But, with your example, the thing is I think these 2 are the 1st I've needed to replace.

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
I've only had to replace one, and it behaved exactly as you describe. Sounds like a coincidence that you had two fail in such a short period.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,379
Posts634,605
Members49,525
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
dcttech, George/wa2vnv, telesalesrep
Newest Members
NiagaraGuy, Luv2uallday, FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines
49,525 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 21
dexman 11
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Mercenary Roadie), 5 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5