EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Daily Excellence
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Eclipse II V 9.1

Someone answers an inbound call then wants to put call on hold. Pressing the HOLD button prompts for a station number. Using SPCL 334 or 335 does the same thing. HOLD button programmed for feature code 334.

Thanks - Jim

Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Correct. Once the call is placed on hold, you now have an idle phone with the handset off hook. You get intercom dial tone, same as if you walked up to the phone and lifted the handset.

Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Thanks for the response. Trouble is, once the call is placed on hold, no one can pick it up, not even the station that placed it on hold. It can be reverse transferred however. Something wrong with trunk config? I apologize for not providing complete info the first time around.

Thanks - Jim

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Do you have line keys or call keys? System hold hold should be used with line keys and individual hold with call keys.

The station that put the call on hold not being able to retrieve it doesn't make sense.

Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Thanks again for responding. When you asked if they were call or line keys I looked. The buttons were programmed as trunk group keys. Not sure why, but I know that was unusual. I'll check the functionality Monday when they get back. Thank you very much!!

Jim

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Trunk group keys? That would explain the problem.

Sometimes you do need to select which TG to use for outbound calls, so they might be appropriate. If that's the case, add a couple of call keys and your problem will go away.

Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
I changed the mapping to call keys and now the person placing the call on hold is able to pick the call back up. And transfer now works fine.

There is still another problem however. When a call comes in, call key 1 lights and the phones ring. As soon as someone picks up the call the line light on every phone except the one that picked it up goes out. Even on system hold no one but the station that placed the call on hold can get it. So if you page the warehouse "John line 1, John, line 1" John can't pick it up because the line isn't avaiable. The display on the phone says TG 92001 Busy.

Thanks - Jim

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
That because it's a Call key, not a Line key. Call 1 is not linked to Line 1. It just happens to be the first call processed on that phone. The next call would be on Call 2, regardless of the actual line in use.

For Call keys, you need to use individual hold instead of system hold. Calls need to be transferred or use reverse transfer to retrieve a holding call. It's a training issue.

How many lines do you have in the system?

Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Well that makes sense. They moved to a different space in the same building thus the different phone system. They're used to hold, intercom or page, and hanging up. I showed them transfer, which is simple and they will adapt I'm sure. They have a 4 line centrex on a loop start card. I very much appreciate your help. I think every thing will be fine now. - Jim

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Good to hear. I was asking about the number of lines because if they only have a few, it's often easier to just give them 4 line keys and call it a day.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Stix1 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,465
Posts640,038
Members49,482
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
ack714, Marky, Mobidoy, Tony the Phoneman
Newest Members
Matt L, Goracing57, Michael Duffy, Jim22, hummerdave
49,482 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 35
Ruben 8
OBT 5
NordVPN
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
30 members (Carl Navarro, newtecky, pvj, Matt L, justbill, JBean3329, hitechcomm, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, metelcom, BobRobert, sundance, Touch Tone Tommy, hbiss, Scott5Rivers, Memphisribs, joshuacook, jab1780, RATHER BE FISHING, Daniel, Professor Shadow, KRRath, sfletcher, BrianS, R4+Z, Yoda, www.telcom1.net, erniejoey, Skunky, 2 invisible), 561 guests, and 33 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud