Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#589411 05/27/15 07:00 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
mj_wald Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
So I have site A and site B with strata net between them
When a call comes into site A it is answered at site B and transferred back to A if needed.
This work great.

Question is, If the WAN is down, how can I fail over that number to ring locally rather then the remote site?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 228
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 228
How does the system direct calls to site B? Is it done by auto attendant or via the DIT of the trunk itself?


Jason

Toshiba/Avaya/Nortel Installations and Service.

Honeywell-Paradox-Kantech-Keyscan-HIKvision Access control and CCTV
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
mj_wald Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
Using the DID table, did xxx-xxxx rings station 7300, 7300 is a network DN.


Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 228
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 228
The only way I could think of setting this up would be if you used pilot DN's, this gives you an alternate DN destination. I have only used pilots for ACD though so it may not be suitable for this.

Manually you could use your day1/day2/night options to allow for a change in destination if your stratanet goes down. This can mess with othe day/night functions though (ie live answer/auto attendant mode)


Jason

Toshiba/Avaya/Nortel Installations and Service.

Honeywell-Paradox-Kantech-Keyscan-HIKvision Access control and CCTV
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,653
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,653
Likes: 4
I ran into the same situation and I could not come up with a solution.

I don't think the Pilot DN will work because without an ACD all calls will be directed to the alternate destination.

I thought about something using CF-Busy, but the forwarding of a remote DN would be controlled by the remote system.

The voice mail may be able to detect a busy extension, and maybe you could have the voice mail system route the call to a different destination on busy. This would require a local VM system that answers the call first. In my scenario there was no local VM to try.

I also thought about the fact that SYS call forwarded templates have a 2nd alternate destination, but that would require the lines to ring at a local extension first. But maybe you could have a station set with DND on, and system CF-DND with Destination 1 as the remote extension and Destination 2 as the local extension.


Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 933
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 933
Likes: 1
Why don't you port the phone numbers that need to ring at site A over to site B and make that the prime answering destination, then the calls can be transferred over to site A if required.


Regards
Carl

Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,826
Posts636,757
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Al Dukes, entire
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
3 members (nfcphoneman, BobRobert, justbill), 30 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5