Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#596161 - 12/15/15 02:00 AM voltage on line  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,129
davetel Offline
Member
davetel  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,129
sbdo, ca, usa
ive got a real problem. customer needs 2 feeds from upstairs suite to downstairs phone room. i was able to run cable from suite to upstairs phone room. cat 6 plenum. from there i had to tie into old house 50 pair cable to downstairs phone room. i have jacks installed at both ends. when i tested the cable with tester in the suite it passed and the said there was voltage on the line. it goes back and forth from pass to reading voltage on line with both cables. when i test from the phone room it says pass and doesnt see any voltage. can anyone make sense of this. i dont see how any voltage can get on the line and when i put my tone sender on the pairs it doesnt light the light. thanks dave

Google Telephone Equipment Search
#596166 - 12/15/15 02:27 AM Re: voltage on line [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 14,838
EV607797 Online content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
EV607797  Online Content

Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 14,838
Fayetteville, NC
I say that it is a stray issue that is of no significance. Keep in mind that 50 feet of CAT6 cable is the equivalent of about 100 feet of CAT3. Mixing categories isn't advised, but depending upon what you're doing, it shouldn't really matter. If you can't pick a voltage reading with a real volt meter, then don't worry about it.

By the way, just because a cable has more than four pairs, that doesn't make it old! We install brand-new 50 pair tie cables all the time.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
#596211 - 12/16/15 03:23 AM Re: voltage on line [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,129
davetel Offline
Member
davetel  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,129
sbdo, ca, usa
thank you for the feedback. i dont thing it really has any voltage but when i go back i will check it with a meter.


Moderated by  tito1411 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
Most Recent 5 Post
IVP8 Rev.2 - Changing Bit from 7 to 8
by DD782. 08/25/19 08:01 PM
Centurylink and Wifi Modems
by Southernphoneman. 08/25/19 04:46 PM
Integrating TVA to KXTD
by barster. 08/24/19 10:41 PM
Allworx Paging across VPN
by aweaver. 08/24/19 07:01 PM
Feature *1 reboots cics everytime
by mikemasson123. 08/24/19 06:28 PM
Who's Online Now
38 registered members (newtecky, Curlycord, justbill, pvj, Professor Shadow, ffej010, dexman, pdxjim911, Yoda, jsaad, scanjet, morephones, metelcom, Jared R, RATHER BE FISHING, hitechcomm, Southernphoneman, Please Just Work, jeffmoss26, C5Z, hbiss, Coral Tech, nortelvoip, Mercenary Roadie, mbhydro, Bob3470, EV607797, Tip&Ring, DD782, ugly1, Touch Tone Tommy, brokeda, Silversam, BobRobert, OBT, Memphisribs, mikemasson123, JBean3329), 881 guests, and 693 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
Slade_M, TechATI, mvickerson, Danny2019, Sami Al-Naser
49108 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics92,754
Posts631,233
Members49,109
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
canyouhearmenow, EricWynne, Permabruise
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 58
C5Z 46
DD782 18
hbiss 16
Daniel 16
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap