Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#596161 - 12/15/15 02:00 AM voltage on line  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,122
davetel Offline
Member
davetel  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,122
sbdo, ca, usa
ive got a real problem. customer needs 2 feeds from upstairs suite to downstairs phone room. i was able to run cable from suite to upstairs phone room. cat 6 plenum. from there i had to tie into old house 50 pair cable to downstairs phone room. i have jacks installed at both ends. when i tested the cable with tester in the suite it passed and the said there was voltage on the line. it goes back and forth from pass to reading voltage on line with both cables. when i test from the phone room it says pass and doesnt see any voltage. can anyone make sense of this. i dont see how any voltage can get on the line and when i put my tone sender on the pairs it doesnt light the light. thanks dave

Google Telephone Equipment Search
#596166 - 12/15/15 02:27 AM Re: voltage on line [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 14,796
EV607797 Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
EV607797  Offline

Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 14,796
Fayetteville, NC
I say that it is a stray issue that is of no significance. Keep in mind that 50 feet of CAT6 cable is the equivalent of about 100 feet of CAT3. Mixing categories isn't advised, but depending upon what you're doing, it shouldn't really matter. If you can't pick a voltage reading with a real volt meter, then don't worry about it.

By the way, just because a cable has more than four pairs, that doesn't make it old! We install brand-new 50 pair tie cables all the time.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
#596211 - 12/16/15 03:23 AM Re: voltage on line [Re: davetel]  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,122
davetel Offline
Member
davetel  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,122
sbdo, ca, usa
thank you for the feedback. i dont thing it really has any voltage but when i go back i will check it with a meter.


Moderated by  tito1411 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
FREE DESI Labeling System Software!
FREE DESI Labeling Software - Click Here!
Most Recent 5 Post
Green Acres
by John807. 06/15/19 02:08 AM
WIN 100D
by mfecko. 06/14/19 07:11 PM
DK SUB40 CID Question
by Duane F.. 06/14/19 04:20 PM
7030 looses memory and handset clone
by DavyWavySheffiel. 06/14/19 01:18 PM
Paging System
by Curt Davis. 06/13/19 05:29 PM
Who's Online Now
28 registered members (Bob3470, nonameyet, BobRobert, JWRacedog, Memphisribs, michaelg, justbill, paphoneinstaller, Yoda, C5Z, hbiss, Professor Shadow, gelehu, upstateny, TeletypeJoe, Keyset6, Silversam, JBean3329, MooreTel, Carl Navarro, OBT, R4+Z, Mercenary Roadie, pdxjim911, morephones, mc601, jeffmoss26, dexman), 228 guests, and 859 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
Alucio, Curt Davis, LewisIzabella, Matthew McCoy, ImNotThePhoneGuy
49040 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics92,535
Posts629,538
Members49,041
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
dag, dtedave
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 36
Daniel 17
C5Z 16
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap