Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#600002 04/19/16 12:36 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,024
Likes: 1
jsaad Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,024
Likes: 1
We have an IP office 9.0 system with SIP trunk on LAN2 with a public IP on the LAN2. The system gets hacked regularly. A complex password is no trouble for the hacker.

We put the IPoffice lan 2 behind a firewall with SIP trunk connectivity results in one way speech.

I used Pfsense and had no luck. 2 days of banging my head against wall is no fun.

So I am hopeful someone can advise me on a product/firewall that will work easily.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
jsaad #600004 04/19/16 01:03 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,633
Likes: 1
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,633
Likes: 1
What SIP provider are you using? Have you set your stun server settings?

What about changing how the SIP provider authenticates, maybe from a specific WAN IP.?????

jsaad #600005 04/19/16 01:24 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,024
Likes: 1
jsaad Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,024
Likes: 1
Verizon Business SIP trunk. Stun 216.93.246.18
Haven't had good luck getting info from Verizon business, like pulling teeth.

TCP 5060 forwarded to IPO
UDP 46750 - 50750 forwarded to IPO

Outside party can hear us, but we (inside party) cannot hear outside caller.

I found an avaya guide to integrating with Verizon business sip trunk but it depicts using a public ip on the LAN2 which is a problem.

Hacking continues.



jsaad #600007 04/19/16 02:18 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,633
Likes: 1
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,633
Likes: 1
Turn off port forwarding.
Set up STUN on LAN2

jsaad #600008 04/19/16 02:20 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,024
Likes: 1
jsaad Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,024
Likes: 1
yes i have stun on lan2, port forwarding was done in our router/firewall attached to lan2.

any suggestions for a firewall

jsaad #600019 04/19/16 11:45 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,633
Likes: 1
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,633
Likes: 1
It is not the firewall. When STUN is set properly, you do not need any ports opened and forwarded.

jsaad #600219 04/26/16 01:32 AM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 160
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 160
When you set up the port forwarding, could you set up original IP address of the port forwarding to be the SIP server's IP?

So only request from SIP server would forward to IPO, not any other IPs including any hacker's.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,833
Posts636,789
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 106 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5