Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Rik Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Is there an issue using LAN SMDI between an IES16 and a rel 5 CIX100. I cannot get the PW prompt or M/W lights. i have tired both 5000 and 1000 in the i/o device.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,654
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,654
Likes: 4
I have not heard about any issues with LAN SMDI on Rel 5. Port should be 5000 for Stratag7y ES, unless it is an iES16-XPE.

You might just have to start from scratch. Delete the I/O settings then put them back. Try removing both devices from the customer LAN, and use a small data port connect them together. IP conflicts could cause problems win SMDI over LAN. I have seen it happen.

Other then that, double check settings in Stratagy and the CIX. There are several things that need to be set just right on both systems or SMDI fails. Check the logs or Stratagy Trace to see if the Stratagy is getting SMDI info.


Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 252
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 252
These are some of the things that have caused me to do a face palm. Especially if I rush through things. Did this ever work?

First - From the voice mail, using RDC if an XP or Net Meeting if an NT based system, access the desktop and make sure you can ping the processor. If you cannot, then this needs to be fixed before taking any further steps.

From the command line, you can also see if you can Telnet to the voice mail on the appropriate port as posted above. A success will result in a blank screen with a cursor. These 2 steps will demonstrate that your networking and CIX are programmed correctly and should accept SMDI input from the PBX.

On the PBX

Double check your I/O settings. Especially the port and IP information.

Double check the IP of the PBX. Make sure a digit wasn't transposed or a subnet mask entered incorrectly.

In Station Assignments for the VM ports under the Basic Tab, make sure the display DN is set to the pilot number of the voice mail. Under the DKT tab, make sure FB 19 is set to "Not Continuous" and the Adapter (FB21) is set to "BPCI" (I miss this when I rush).

Make sure all extensions with mailboxes have the VMID set to the mailbox number they access when calling voice mail and that the VM pilot is programmed in the Message Center.

In System, Voice Mail Data make sure the VM Pilot number is defined in FB 10 and 16. This won't keep it from working but it does come into play for other features and applications.

Now for the voice mail -

Are mailboxes built?

If the IP address or the community name of the PBX has changed these will need to be defined in Configuration, Telephone System Integration. You also should check the "Voice Ports" and make sure the extension numbers of the voice mail ports are defined (another one I easily overlook). If you make any changes here, you will need to restart the Stratagy service.

On occasion, if I change the voice mail parameters and restart the Stratagy service, I still will not have integration and have had to perform a reboot using the Shutdown button and the powering off and then on the voice mail.

If you are familiar with the trace software, you can set up a trace and see if data is passing through to the PBX but, if any one of the parameters mentioned is not set right, it will not work correctly even though data is passing.

Without fail, any problems I have had with integration have been due to either a networking problem like a bad switch, cable, bad LAN port on the PBX or voice mail, or missing/erroneous programming because I am trying to rush.

I have found it pays to start at the beginning and check EVERYTHING since 1 incorrect setting will cause it not to work at all.

My most common mistakes are not setting the adapter to BPCI on the voice mail ports in the PBX and not defining the voice mail port extension numbers in the voice mail.



Michael Meyer
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,654
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,654
Likes: 4
Originally Posted by Meyery2k
My most common mistakes are not setting the adapter to BPCI on the voice mail ports in the PBX and not defining the voice mail port extension numbers in the voice mail.


Those were the 2 things I would miss most often, and now are one of the first things I set.

On some occasions I have seen SMDI from the PBX not work after changing I/O info. Usually removing it, then adding it back will get it to work again, but you could also try cycling power on the PBX if you can.

As mentioned some VM settings require a Stratagy restart. It is quicker to do it from the IES desktop. When SMDI starts working very often the Stratagy will automatically reboot, but as suggested by Michael you can rebooted it manually to see if that helps/


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,788
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 46 guests, and 34 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5