Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 480
cctech Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 480
Hello all: I have an NEC SL1100 digital phone that I am trying to put a Plantronics CS50 wireless headset on. When I go off hook using the wireless headset I cannot get a line so I put a lifter on the phone and when I press the call button on the headset my lifter lifts the handset but i do not hear a dial tone unless I press a line button. And then when the call is finished I cannot hang up using the call button on the headset. On the Nec phone if I lift the handset I can get dial tone but not if I press the speaker button. Not sure how that works. Anyway does anyone have any ideas about whayt is happening? I am under the impression that you can answer and hang up using the call button on the headset.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 683
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 683
Do you have a headset button programmed? Is it active?


St Petersburg
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 480
cctech Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 480
I have tried it with a headset button but when the headset button is activated the phone automatically goes of hook. And with the headset button I still cannot hang the phone up ny pressing the call button on the headset.

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 683
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 683
After further review, that is correct. From reading in the features and specs manual, the feature key activates and deactivates the headset. So from the looks of it, the wireless headset was not intended to be used with the SL1100. I know it was available on some old DSX phones.
If anyone else has a different opinion, please chime in.


St Petersburg
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
A few years ago I installed an NEC Wireless Headset Adapter (WHA) on a DSX 40. It was a small unit that snapped into the cavity on the bottom of the phone. A special connector on the phone accepted the cable from the WHA. It worked very well, and the unit snapped into place so there were no cords bunched up under the telephone.

I never had an opportunity to use one on the SL1100. On the SV9100, they have an Electronic Hook Switch (EHS). It works very well, but it doesn't snap onto the phone. Just the usual cord mess with the headset.

On both of these units, it eliminates the need for the old handset lifter, which I thought were always pretty hokey.

Jim

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,486
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,486
IF your using a handset lifter there should be no need to use a headset button. We have these out there on SL100, SV8100 and SV9100 and have never seen an issue with them.

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 480
cctech Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 480
Not sure what happened but I defaulted the system and it worked fine. Mybad. Thanks for all your input.


Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,787
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
5 members (RATHER BE FISHING, Marjan Shaw, dans, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, justbill), 164 guests, and 68 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5