Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
How do I disable the voice mail in NEC Electra elite?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
When you say disable, do you mean some ones voice mail box, auto attendant or the whole voice mail system?


We get old too soon, smart too late
Joined: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
I need turn off the whole voice mail system.

Last edited by kevinm21; 09/18/17 09:23 PM.
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2
Kevin,
It will be a bit of a process - so I'm assuming you'd like to permanently (or semi-permanently) disable it (not just for the weekend or something - it's too much hassle for that). Not sure of your level of experience, or your exact setup, so I'll outline the steps you'd need to take and if you need more specific directions I'll help you out the best I can. Please note that this assumes you're using one of NEC's "in-skin" Voicemail Systems (Elitemail - VMS(), VMP(), FMS(), etc)

Here's the process you'll need to follow:
1) Make sure your incoming trunks aren't ringing on your voicemail ports (Memory Block 4-01 and 4-02) - if you've not had incoming trunks ring physical extensions so that the auto attendant routed calls, you'll be able to make extensions ring on incoming trunks here as well.

2) You'll need to make sure your stations aren't trying to forward to the VM pilot when they're busy or unanswered. This could be done a few ways, it sort of depends how your system was set up, hopefully you can just remove Call Forward Busy/No Answer from the class of service the stations are assigned to - check out block 4-17 for that.

3) You'll want to boot down the voicemail card, turn off the KSU, remove the voicemail card, turn on the KSU, and then edit Memory Block 7-1 to tell it that slot is now empty.

That should be enough to disable the system and not have issues as you continue to use it. If I've missed something, hopefully someone else can chime in!

BTW: If you're not familiar with programming your system, search google for "Electra Elite Programming Manual" - don't worry about programming from a PC, just do it from the phone on port 00 or 01.

Grace and peace,
Cory

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
Better yet look up a local NEC tech


We get old too soon, smart too late

Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,788
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw
49,649 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
2 members (Curlycord, JBean3329), 194 guests, and 84 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5