Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#621141 - 06/15/18 05:06 PM Programming Help  
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
misskahill Offline
Member
misskahill  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
CT
Trying to program class 10 Station User ID and have only been able to enter the first Character...Any idea what I need to do to get to the 2nd character?


Attendant Phone Installer Programming, ADIX


Misskahill
Google Telephone Equipment Search
#621149 - 06/15/18 09:28 PM Re: Programming Help [Re: misskahill]  
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,490
JBean3329 Online content
Moderator-Iwatsu
JBean3329  Online Content

Moderator-Iwatsu
*****

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,490
Jamestown, NY
I haven't programmed with a phone in about 15 years.....Try pressing the HOLD button to advance one space to the right. If I remember correctly, pressing the # key toggles upper and lower case. If HOLD doesn't work, try SPKR. Like I said, it's been a long time...

Be sure to press the ENTER key- key number 12- when finished.

Last edited by JBean3329; 06/15/18 09:30 PM.

Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
#621277 - 06/19/18 10:50 PM Re: Programming Help [Re: misskahill]  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 163
Keyset6 Offline
Member
Keyset6  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 163
Vernon, CT, USA
I can't imagine what it would be like to program an entire system from a phone!

You may already have this - the programming template. Don't know if I'm doing this right. going to try to insert a link to it. Doesn't answer your question though, how to advance to the next character.

[Linked Image</div>
<br>

<div class= Last edited by Keyset6; 06/19/18 10:53 PM.
#621278 - 06/19/18 11:07 PM Re: Programming Help [Re: misskahill]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,299
Professor Shadow Online content
Admin
Professor Shadow  Online Content
Admin
*****

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,299
Canby, Oregon
PM Sent

Let me know if that works for you.


Dean

Please don't confuse your "Google Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.
#621308 - 06/20/18 04:32 PM Re: Programming Help [Re: misskahill]  
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,490
JBean3329 Online content
Moderator-Iwatsu
JBean3329  Online Content

Moderator-Iwatsu
*****

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,490
Jamestown, NY
I have an ADIX -VS in the shop. I'll try it later today and get you a definitive answer.

As you may have guessed if I had a choice, I'd rather be in jail than program an entire system with the keyset. I've done it in the past, but I don't like to think about it....


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
#621374 - 06/21/18 07:49 PM Re: Programming Help [Re: misskahill]  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 163
Keyset6 Offline
Member
Keyset6  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 163
Vernon, CT, USA
Got a chance to try it in the shop, maybe JBean's message told you this: SPKR advances to the next character, TRAN goes back. Enter (per template) when done, if I didn't hit Next it wouldn't save. I found '1' does different characters including a space when I re-programmed the name: Sarah 1


#621399 - 06/22/18 04:58 PM Re: Programming Help [Re: misskahill]  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 163
Keyset6 Offline
Member
Keyset6  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 163
Vernon, CT, USA
I wonder what you guys did years ago after a system was defaulted? I guess you had a written or printed record of all the configuration. I thought I was going to have to do that with a Samsung system, not sure of the model, the power supplies say 56/120. Fortunately the memory was intact after replacing the power supply. I 'practiced' just to get familiar with the procedure in the shop with the system we have. That's what reminded me to try it with an Adix. We're actually installing an Adix for a customer at a new site they moved to with Gen 3 24 button phones. They're saving big bucks over something new, and we have a good supply of spare parts.

#621411 - 06/23/18 01:37 AM Re: Programming Help [Re: misskahill]  
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,490
JBean3329 Online content
Moderator-Iwatsu
JBean3329  Online Content

Moderator-Iwatsu
*****

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,490
Jamestown, NY
Programming sheets were an absolute must on a system install, even with the first programmers, only because it took three or four floppy discs- some of you may have to Google 'floppy disc" -just in case something went wrong. A three-ring binder was part of the parts list on every new install for many years.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
#621875 - 07/09/18 11:06 PM Re: Programming Help [Re: misskahill]  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 163
Keyset6 Offline
Member
Keyset6  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 163
Vernon, CT, USA
Yes, those 3-ring binders were in the switchroom in the 80s when I was with Rolm, At least with the Iwatsu you could program a defaulted system. The older Rolm systems used cassette tapes and a Techtran loader. Failures when loading were common. With no database, there was no dial tone, nothing. If no luck at all we'd bring tapes from another customer's system and try those just to get it going. Of course the database was different so there were many phones/trunks not working. I think in that case a new copy of the software would need to be generated in California and sent out, of course by mail. The memory batteries for those were big 12v gel cells.

I'll never forget during Rolm training in 1984 when we did the reloading of a down system and the cassette based system's load was successful, the instructor said 'I don't believe it - it worked!' It was great when the Rolm 8000 came out with a floppy disk system, they were 8" so they could fit all 180K. Not Meg, Kilo,

We recently bought some cordless phone 3.6v batteries for the Adix CPUs. I always save the original battery connectors. The new 3.6v batteries can be connected to the Adix CPU with caution - the polarity must be observed because the battery plug can be inserted both ways.

#622618 - 08/08/18 04:39 PM Re: Programming Help [Re: misskahill]  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 163
Keyset6 Offline
Member
Keyset6  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 163
Vernon, CT, USA
I know this an old thread, but I visited it again to reference what I found re: programming with a phone. I have an account where the Adix is in another building - the Police dept. of all places. Of course that takes some time signing in/out PBX room access etc. Ironically, years ago (before my time with this co.) modem connections were dependable enough for the most part, because most COs (in my state at least) were the same company. Now with cable companies, T1s, etc, it's pretty much forget about remote access. Even on the site with an analog line I'd have to connect an external modem to my pc to access the existing modem on a CO, it may not work anyway.

The customer's voicemail is in the main town hall building along with the Esna voicemail. Many times they just need name changes. I figured out what keys do what for upper/lower case, spaces, numerical entry. This would save time being able to program names from the town hall, the attendant phone on port 1 is there. What I'm wondering is - the book says HOLD becomes NULL in programming mode. NULL means to enter a blank space. I found that not the be the case, pressing 1 will alternate between symbols and a blank space. I wonder if anyone has experienced the same or different results? I know it's very unlikely anyone would even need to program names from a phone now. All the more respect for those who had no choice but to program the whole system from a phone back in the day!

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Jadix, JBean3329 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
FREE DESI Labeling System Software!
FREE DESI Labeling Software - Click Here!
Most Recent 5 Post
Avaya IPO 500V2
by networx. 09/21/18 09:52 PM
SL2100 Spectrum IP Not Registered SIP
by Johnny Luchador. 09/21/18 05:53 PM
I SPY
by mfecko. 09/20/18 07:46 PM
WIN - How to turn on ringer?
by TCH Industries. 09/20/18 06:20 PM
Mitel SX-200 MX
by Biztel Cuban Okie Tech. 09/20/18 03:51 PM
Who's Online Now
49 registered members (phonemeister, sonny88, dmcdream, Carl Navarro, justbill, telecom guy10, gelehu, royb, Yoda, hitechcomm, Derrick, Central Coast Tom, dexman, phonman123, Bob3470, jeffmoss26, jknichols, newtecky, hbiss, metelcom, Professor Shadow, JBean3329, crownedking, networx, Ruben, ComdialJim, www.telcom1.net, Johnny Luchador, usedphones, Gerrya, michaelg, pdxjim911, hawk82, dude, upstateny, mongo5150, TCH Industries, dans, Mickamg, dosjock, Skunky, jab1780, ATechguy, Touch Tone Tommy, stewie, Joel J., 3 invisible), 848 guests, and 459 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
TCH Industries, Jacob_at_PT, Chris_Wykoff, phonetech091985, ph1954
48748 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics91,541
Posts622,881
Members48,748
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Atomquad, brokeda, T.C, tampabay, waland
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 55
Ruben 22
hbiss 14
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT Need to check code
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2018
Trusted Partners
Sitemap