Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#621901 - 07/11/18 04:58 AM SL1100 w/ Spectrum SIP & Session Border Controller  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,906
brokeda Offline
Member
brokeda  Offline

Member
*****

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,906
mesquite tx
Anyone installed SIP with this? Need help. mad

NEC search for systems, cards, phones, software, manuals and repairs!
NEC Search Enter Part Number
#621910 - 07/11/18 05:16 PM Re: SL1100 w/ Spectrum SIP & Session Border Controller [Re: brokeda]  
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 135
usbuild Offline
Member
usbuild  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 135
Northbrook, IL
It was awhile ago, I recall following instructions written for sv8100

#621913 - 07/11/18 06:41 PM Re: SL1100 w/ Spectrum SIP & Session Border Controller [Re: usbuild]  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,906
brokeda Offline
Member
brokeda  Offline

Member
*****

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,906
mesquite tx
mine is a fiber unit. Has a ethernet port on the front marked VOICE, they say I must plug phone system directly into that.
When I do, IP phones no longer work, can't ping Viop board from local network.

#621917 - 07/11/18 07:59 PM Re: SL1100 w/ Spectrum SIP & Session Border Controller [Re: brokeda]  
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,311
Carl Navarro Offline
Moderator-Panasonic
Carl Navarro  Offline

Moderator-Panasonic
***

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,311
NW Ohio
We did our SBC by making the ISP give us an IP in our local network. We put it at 250 and the phone system at 249. The only communication with the outside world for the phone system is to 250 and our SIP phones talk to 249. We didn't have to worry about spammers because there is no path to the SBC from the public IP and that communications is the ISP's worry.

If your phone system is plugged into the SBC it's gonna be tough for your phones to phone home LOL

Carl


Not my circus, not my elephants.
#621918 - 07/11/18 08:21 PM Re: SL1100 w/ Spectrum SIP & Session Border Controller [Re: brokeda]  
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 135
usbuild Offline
Member
usbuild  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 135
Northbrook, IL
how you have it setup?
SBC-> switch-> PBX and phones
SBC -> router -> switch -> PBX and phones

#621931 - 07/12/18 01:14 PM Re: SL1100 w/ Spectrum SIP & Session Border Controller [Re: brokeda]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,706
Coral Tech Offline
Member
Coral Tech  Offline
Member
*****

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,706
Chicago area, Illinois
SBC sits on the internal network. This install is as easy as pie for SIP IMHO. The SBC has a connect of it's own to their router. The SBC will have an internal static IP address that is assigned by the IT guy or whomever. This is the address that's important to you. I've installed like 6 of these and they are like the easiest of all because you don;t have to deal with people not knowing how to configure their damn firewalls.

#621941 - 07/12/18 05:46 PM Re: SL1100 w/ Spectrum SIP & Session Border Controller [Re: brokeda]  
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 135
usbuild Offline
Member
usbuild  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 135
Northbrook, IL
Not necessarily. I have two locations with SBC for voice as primary gateway handling firewall, vpn, dhcp, routing. ISP had to be envoled in firewall configuration.



#621942 - 07/12/18 06:08 PM Re: SL1100 w/ Spectrum SIP & Session Border Controller [Re: brokeda]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,706
Coral Tech Offline
Member
Coral Tech  Offline
Member
*****

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,706
Chicago area, Illinois
Interesting, every Spectrum install I have done have been virtually the same.

#621949 - 07/12/18 09:11 PM Re: SL1100 w/ Spectrum SIP & Session Border Controller [Re: Coral Tech]  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,906
brokeda Offline
Member
brokeda  Offline

Member
*****

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,906
mesquite tx
Higher ups have now said it should be SBC-switch-phone system.
They only have configuration guide for NEC 3c.
Anyone have one for SL1100?

#621957 - 07/13/18 12:24 PM Re: SL1100 w/ Spectrum SIP & Session Border Controller [Re: Coral Tech]  
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 135
usbuild Offline
Member
usbuild  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 135
Northbrook, IL
Originally Posted by Coral Tech
Interesting, every Spectrum install I have done have been virtually the same.

Both in Denver on Spectrum metro Ethernet

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  DrPbx, ttech 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
FREE DESI Labeling System Software!
FREE DESI Labeling Software - Click Here!
Most Recent 5 Post
CTX28 stop 4 phones ringing on incoming CO Calls?
by ATechguy. 02/16/19 11:12 PM
OS7070 password not accepting by OSDM
by Tariq. 02/16/19 09:02 AM
SBX Speakerphone issue
by jadams912. 02/16/19 01:12 AM
Installer Requested in CA
by usedphones. 02/15/19 08:34 PM
Nortel 7316E
by NMR. 02/15/19 08:05 PM
Who's Online Now
26 registered members (ATechguy, Curlycord, dexman, ugly1, OBT, hbiss, ChrisRR, justbill, Silversam, jeffmoss26, michaelg, dougster, Bob3470, pdxjim911, Yoda, Central Coast Tom, phonman123, ffej010, Dimension Seven, Touch Tone Tommy, Professor Shadow, SD-Ron, upstateny, nonameyet, barster, 1 invisible), 230 guests, and 446 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
NMR, jay patel, Tom Horne, kusdane, dtveraas
48926 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics92,115
Posts626,510
Members48,926
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Model 12, Phoneperson, verizon_cpe_tech, VIDEOMAN
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 39
tylan 15
SSPhone 14
dans 11
Daniel 10
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap