Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#622147 07/23/18 04:41 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Is there a way to test the email notification on a SV9100, ver 7? I've finally configured it but would like to test it.

Thanks.
Jim

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Make a gmail account.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
I have an account setup. The IT guy just changed their email server and I have the info. Never had it configured before, but thought I would try it now with the new server.

Is there a way to trigger an email to see if all is setup correctly?

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Just setup a mailbox, leave a message in it.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
I was thinking of some sort of error condition and then the 9100 would email me to tell me something was wrong. Or am I out in left field on this?

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
I mean you COULD set it up to do that but why do all the extra work when you have to setup emails anyhow? I always have a gmail account setup because sometimes they don't setup their SMTP correctly. I always test it on their stuff and it it doesn't work I flip to my gmail to verify it.

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 221
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 221
Did you try watching it with a DIM trace with Putty or Hyperterminal...

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 566
Likes: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 566
Likes: 2
Originally Posted by Coral Tech
I mean you COULD set it up to do that but why do all the extra work when you have to setup emails anyhow? I always have a gmail account setup because sometimes they don't setup their SMTP correctly. I always test it on their stuff and it it doesn't work I flip to my gmail to verify it.


In OZ NEC have a Gmail account set up and it is quoted in the setup guide. the beauty of this is that if your custom config doesn't work, you simply set it up word for word as per the setup guide and hey presto it works. you can then simply pass the problem back to the company's IT provider to resolve!

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 566
Likes: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 566
Likes: 2
On a similar note, do you guys in the US have toll fraud guard AKA Inguard? Would be interested to know your experience with this.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,354
Thank you all. Yes, the Gmail account is the way to do it. Thanks again.

Jim

(R4+Z : Maybe start a new thread for the Inguard question. I have not used it.)

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,824
Posts636,752
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Chad Hoffman, frankhines, jnawrocki
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 11
ramo 11
Toner 7
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (Coral Tech), 27 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5