Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#624271 10/09/18 12:10 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
I've got a customer with a DCS - don't know what version, looked in the file cabinet (that's how long ago it was installed) and found paperwork from 1995. It's currently connected to an Esna voicemail with analog integration. The PC the Esna was running on was locked after their I.T guy logged it off, the customer didn't know the password to log back on. Our engineer was able to get it going after bringing it back to the shop. The next day it failed - he then disabled or deleted a script that was causing trouble. It's been fine for a few months, but we want to give the customer some other voicemail options since the PC it's running on is old, the platform it's running on is Windows 2000 or XP. I haven't been with the company that long, I just learned about the Cadence (I believe it's called) voicemail card. There is an available slot next to the DLI card I installed last year.

I believe the CPU needs to be at a certain software level to be able to use the Cadence. I've seen (very old) posts on another forum about PCMMC I think it's called to backup and convert the database. There was documentation to get the file 'via the dialup BBS'! We're not a Samsung dealer anymore, so I'm thinking of other options, such as a new(er) analog voicemail system. If we run into trouble with the database it appears the whole system would need to be programmed from a phone via MMCs. Ideally - keep the DCS as is and find a compatible voicemail. Any other suggestions besides Cadence? Of course the DTMF sent on the channels would likely have to change.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,290
Likes: 4
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,290
Likes: 4
Wow an old system,but they do run.IF you are insistent on keeping this DO NOT install a Cadence.You can install an in skin SVMi-8 or SVMi-8E with the right DCS software. Those will integrate very nicely with the DCS but realize that that system and all it's parts are long since discontinued.

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by pvj
Wow an old system,but they do run.IF you are insistent on keeping this DO NOT install a Cadence.You can install an in skin SVMi-8 or SVMi-8E with the right DCS software. Those will integrate very nicely with the DCS but realize that that system and all it's parts are long since discontinued.

Yea it is old. We also may get together a quote for a new (or used but newer) entire system for them. As you point out - Cadence doesn't seem to be the way to go based on what I've heard. I will check out the SVMi options, thanks.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,290
Likes: 4
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,290
Likes: 4
It appears to go the SVMi route you will need at least 4.6 level software and an empty slot .
To do any programming on a DCS with pcmmc will require a SIM. If you are looking to prolong the system life, the SVMi will be a much faster vmail than an in band integration.And give you some extra features like call recording and the integration with the display and soft keys on the phones.

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
I wonder does the empty slot need to be in cabinet 1? The customer has 3 cabinets. If yes, there's a slight possibility we could do that because they have a T1 card that's no longer used, but don't recall which cabinet.

I've been fooling around with the system here at the shop. Looks like MMC 727 will show the system version, sort of based on the chips in the ROM card. I say sort of because a ROM that has 4.1 chips did display has Version '98 10.02.V4.1 - while a ROM with 2.2 chips display as xxxx V2.3. I also found the customer's configuration is not stored on the ROM card, I programmed a couple extension with names - as long as I replace a 4.1 ROM with another 4.1, the programming stayed. Tried the same with a 2.2 ROM, the config defaulted as expected. The manual states the config is stored on the motherboard, kept active with a 'Super capacitor' up to 7 days.

If we went with the SVMi, I'd still want to document as much configuration as I can just in case, but it appears that wouldn't be disturbed in the case of an upgrade. When I'm at the site again which may be soon I'll see what version they're at. Doubt they're 4.6 based on the age.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,290
Likes: 4
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,290
Likes: 4
No the SVMi does not have to go in the first cabinet.
4.1 Software was I believe the first level that was for Cadence release.I mentioned above I think 4.6 is the first software that will support SVMi.
I have removed a couple of DCS systems with a SVMi installed but not because of the SVMi, 1 was caused by the EXPN B card failing and I didn't have a spare.

Correct about where the database is stored as the super cap for the memory is on the motherboard.

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
If they do want to keep the system that's good news the SVMi can go in other cabinets. We still have 4 DCSs that I know of. Knock on wood they seem to run well based on the amount of service calls I've had, which is very few. They were telco related - cable company provided COs via an Arris ATA.

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
Looking around the shop I found a couple of Starmail systems. I know we removed one from an old 56/120 system because it had some kind of intermittent defect before we replaced the entire system. Maybe they could consider that in the event the existing voicemail crashed - but if you could even put a Starmail on a DCS it would certainly be several steps back in technology. Although the customer must walk into the PBX room, she can do voicemail admin via a PC with the system they have.

I'm not familiar with Starmail - but I don't think we still have any out there.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,290
Likes: 4
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,290
Likes: 4
I'd put a Cadence in before a Starmail. You can certainly install a Starmail on a DCS again with the inband integration but they are slow and clunky to program through DTMF.I was glad to see my last Cadence disappear but I think I was even happier when my last Starmail died.

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 284
Likes: 1
Yea the parts manager here didn't have a good opinion about Starmail. I think the last one was with a Samsung 56/120 (not sure if I'm stating the model correctly) which was replaced with a new Alcatel-Lucent system. Given the age of the DCS the customer should consider a new system, although it I believe it's been reliable for them.


Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,830
Posts636,775
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Florencio, HtownDan, Kerry2362, Lorena Catalan, SWB, telecom5000, Tex Tel Marine
Newest Members
Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D
49,645 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 29 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5