Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#623508 - 09/13/18 03:25 PM Loop current and no speech  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 930
jsaad Offline
Member
jsaad  Offline

Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 930
Union NJ
Customer has comcast phone service from Arris unit. We measured 47-48vdc and 38mA current coming from the modem. Current is high but never have had an issue yet. Customer complains of no speech, phone rings, nothing there. Then they call the customer back and can talk. Happens on an intermittent basis. Comcast replaced modem and some outside filters.

Considering Sandman loop current regulators at this point but not sure if that is going to solve the problem.

Google Telephone Equipment Search
#623510 - 09/13/18 04:32 PM Re: Loop current and no speech [Re: jsaad]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,882
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content

Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,882
Arlington, Massachusetts
Does the customer utilize an auto attendant? If so, check to see that Comcast is providing a positive disconnect. Specifically, Comcast needs to momentarily kill the voltage on the line to indicate to the auto attendant that the calling party has hung up. Without the disconnect indication, the auto attendant will keep the telephone line seized, and the Timeout action setting would dictate what happens from there.


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
#623511 - 09/13/18 06:06 PM Re: Loop current and no speech [Re: jsaad]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 930
jsaad Offline
Member
jsaad  Offline

Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 930
Union NJ
no auto-attendant. phone rings, caller id is a known customer, but no speech. lousy situation.

#623513 - 09/13/18 06:56 PM Re: Loop current and no speech [Re: jsaad]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,882
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content

Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,882
Arlington, Massachusetts
So it's not a case of positive disconnect then.

This sounds similar to a situation where users of ISDN/PRI services hear their phones ring, but, nobody is there.

Trapping messages on the "D" channel reveals a glitch that prevents the audio from turning on, thus the called party hears dead air.

Given that this problem is intermittent, Comcast could have a problem upstream. Calls hit a bad circuit and it fails. Another call hits a different circuit and all is well.

My suggestion....have Comcast verify the modem's programming. If it is confirmed to be good, have them trace out bad calls to see if they all have something in common.


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
#623542 - 09/14/18 01:19 PM Re: Loop current and no speech [Re: jsaad]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 930
jsaad Offline
Member
jsaad  Offline

Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 930
Union NJ
thanks for the good advice!

#623806 - 09/24/18 12:44 PM Re: Loop current and no speech [Re: dexman]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 930
jsaad Offline
Member
jsaad  Offline

Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 930
Union NJ
Comcast tech called and admitted they have a known issue of 'ghosting' and are working to resolve it. He called it 'ghosting'. Phone rings, customer answers and no speech. They have a fix to be implemented. We shall see..

Last edited by jsaad; 09/24/18 12:45 PM.
#623812 - 09/24/18 01:52 PM Re: Loop current and no speech [Re: jsaad]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,882
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content

Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,882
Arlington, Massachusetts
Let us know what the final outcome is. smile


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
#625999 - 12/05/18 09:38 PM Re: Loop current and no speech [Re: jsaad]  
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 549
telecom guy10 Offline
Member
telecom guy10  Offline

Member
****

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 549
Fletcher
Guys, just to chime in--I deal with this issue a lot.

Nowadays, most cable providers are using these Arris TG series gateways to provide POTS to customers. All the Arris does is send the voice as data to the CMTS, and from there it is transported as SIP/VoIP.

More than once I've run into this issue and it has been a problem with the provider's VoIP infrastructure. It takes some major convincing to get them to look at it, but we can usually get it resolved.

EDIT: With SIP, the two endpoints talk to each other and negotiate a random port to transport audio on. If there is too much latency between the two endpoints, it can result in this behavior, or even one way audio.

Last edited by telecom guy10; 12/05/18 09:40 PM. Reason: Missing info

Mountain Communication Systems | (828) 299 9999 | Asheville, NC
#626003 - 12/05/18 10:19 PM Re: Loop current and no speech [Re: jsaad]  
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
ThePhoneConnection Offline
Member
ThePhoneConnection  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Long Beach, California
I have 3 customers on Spectrum this week that are having those same issue's ghost calls and ring backs with dead air. Spectrum states it's been a nationwide issue since Friday Nov 30th Still not fixed as of this morning....

#626053 - 12/07/18 08:56 PM Re: Loop current and no speech [Re: jsaad]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 930
jsaad Offline
Member
jsaad  Offline

Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 930
Union NJ
The problem has subsided here for the most part. Late August through September we got alot of calls from various customers. The 'Comcast fix' seems to be working. We were told by a field technician the issue was specific to Comcast and calls from Verizon wireless which is the biggest cell phone carrier.


Moderated by  dexman 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
FREE DESI Labeling System Software!
FREE DESI Labeling Software - Click Here!
Most Recent 5 Post
DSX 80 Remote access
by cctech. 12/18/18 06:18 AM
OSM Manager 2007
by mfecko. 12/17/18 09:38 PM
Voice Announce and BGM Volume
by Yoda. 12/17/18 02:28 PM
NEC DX7NA48 aka DS2000 caller id issues??
by Telesystems. 12/17/18 03:29 AM
Who's Online Now
54 registered members (dexman, brokeda, phonemeister, nabulsi, Test-ok, metelcom, Telesystems, cctech, Michael J Miller, Ceejust, Bob3470, morephones, justbill, newtecky, gelehu, pvj, zoomo, ABLE1, Professor Shadow, Yoda, mbhydro, jb-alert@live.com, Ted, Mercenary Roadie, skip555, RonP, RM SYSTEMS, jeffmoss26, hitechcomm, mfecko, dans, mreilly, Carlos#1, MooreTel, TopekaPhone, barnito, hbiss, Daniel, ChrisRR, usedphones, oobie, nonameyet, jknichols, msnell, andyphones, seafort, helpifican, Memphisribs, Touch Tone Tommy, DankyChado, Regan, VIBob, 2 invisible), 690 guests, and 456 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
US66TELCOMUSEUM, Jay Shop, wolf8963, Sonny1823, Ceejust
48851 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics91,927
Posts625,379
Members48,851
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
fsifw, Mandy
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 75
hbiss 30
tylan 17
SSPhone 14
Daniel 12
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT Need to check code
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2018
Trusted Partners
Sitemap