Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#627975 - 03/05/19 11:40 PM POTS w/ no devices... 48VDC?  
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
OM05 Offline
Member
OM05  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Eastern Massachusetts
Enjoy reading this site, lurking about 8 years now of and on, finally need to make a first post to get some info --

If I were to put a DC voltmeter across a pair of telephone wires (direct from the pole, no NID or other anything else attached) should that measure ~48VDC if POTS and DSL is active on the line?

Moved into a new house, ordered POTS and DSL... I've got 3 cables at the side of the house, 6 pairs, two are aerial drops and one rises up out of the ground... one 30 year old crusty NID on the house, and a shadow where another likely existed years ago but since removed. 1 of the aerial drops is connected to the NID, opening the the telco side of the NID I probe both pairs from the drop and they measure 0VDC. The other 2 cables I stripped back to bare copper, all 4 pairs measure 0VDC.

According to the phone company everything should be working on their side. They are dispatching a tech, but have cautioned me up and down that I'll be charged some expensive hourly rate if the problem isn't on their side, so I want to be sure I've done my diligence as best I can.

Google Telephone Equipment Search
#627976 - 03/06/19 01:15 AM Re: POTS w/ no devices... 48VDC? [Re: OM05]  
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,193
Touch Tone Tommy Online content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
Touch Tone Tommy  Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,193
Paso Robles, CA
You're good -

#627977 - 03/06/19 01:20 AM Re: POTS w/ no devices... 48VDC? [Re: OM05]  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 11,894
hbiss Online content
Member
hbiss  Online Content

Member
***

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 11,894
New York
Quote
They are dispatching a tech, but have cautioned me up and down that I'll be charged some expensive hourly rate if the problem isn't on their side, so I want to be sure I've done my diligence as best I can.


DSL might not have battery but for sure POTS will. Since I assume you have both on one pair then there should be battery and dialtone. Does the one connected DEMARC have a jack where you can plug in a phone to test the line? Don't worry about their BS, they are supposed to provide a working DEMARC for you to connect your inside wiring.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#627978 - 03/06/19 01:37 AM Re: POTS w/ no devices... 48VDC? [Re: OM05]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,040
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content

Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,040
Arlington, Massachusetts
It is possible to have battery without dialtone. As Hal suggested, connect a telephone (or buttset) to verify the presence of dialtone. If you do have a buttset check for proper polarity (even though modern equipment is not polarity sensitive).


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
#627980 - 03/06/19 03:18 PM Re: POTS w/ no devices... 48VDC? [Re: hbiss]  
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
OM05 Offline
Member
OM05  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Eastern Massachusetts
Thanks for your responses everyone!

Hal, the NID does have two jacks to connect network side to customer side (and for testing), but the way it's wired now it ought to be fool proof (famous last words) -- wiring consists of just a 3' length of 4-conductor station wire connecting R/G and B/Y from the customer side of the NID to a jack on the opposite side of that wall where I have a 2-line cordless phone plugged in, no DT on either line.

That, combined w/ the lack of ~48VDC at the network side of the NID (and from the telco drop itself), has lead to me believe the pairs are just dead...

In theory Verizon has a technician coming out today to look at it, so we'll see what happens, hopefully just something at the pole needs connecting -- today is appointment #2, they didn't show up to appointment #1, when I called and asked why they no-showed they said that the #1 appointment wasn't actually for a technician to go on-site, just for them to do their work at the CO, and that I had misunderstood their original request that "someone over 18 be present at the home" for that appointment as meaning that someone would actually come to my home ponder

...more than than likely they are correct that the #1 appointment was not a technician visit, it was probably a service start date for billing but the phone rep I was talking to muscle-memoried the "someone over 18 must be home" phrase into the conversation by accident.

#627981 - 03/06/19 04:17 PM Re: POTS w/ no devices... 48VDC? [Re: OM05]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,131
Professor Shadow Online content
Admin
Professor Shadow  Online Content

Admin
*****

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,131
Canby, Oregon
Don't let them talk you into "Inside Wiring Maintenance" 😂


Dean
Photographs: https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/

Please don't confuse your "Google Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.
#627987 - 03/06/19 05:38 PM Re: POTS w/ no devices... 48VDC? [Re: OM05]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,040
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content

Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,040
Arlington, Massachusetts
Verizon is pushing that service again. The other day, when renewing my FiOS commitment, I had to listen to the rep mention all of the great benefits of having the inside wiring coverage....this despite the fact that I told her multiple times that I worked in telecommunications for 23 years and was quite proficient with wiring. bugeyed


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
#628153 - 03/14/19 07:33 PM Re: POTS w/ no devices... 48VDC? [Re: OM05]  
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 635
hawk82 Online content
Member
hawk82  Online Content

Member

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 635
Central Maine
Originally Posted by OM05
Enjoy reading this site, lurking about 8 years now of and on, finally need to make a first post to get some info --

If I were to put a DC voltmeter across a pair of telephone wires (direct from the pole, no NID or other anything else attached) should that measure ~48VDC if POTS and DSL is active on the line?

Moved into a new house, ordered POTS and DSL... I've got 3 cables at the side of the house, 6 pairs, two are aerial drops and one rises up out of the ground... one 30 year old crusty NID on the house, and a shadow where another likely existed years ago but since removed. 1 of the aerial drops is connected to the NID, opening the the telco side of the NID I probe both pairs from the drop and they measure 0VDC. The other 2 cables I stripped back to bare copper, all 4 pairs measure 0VDC.

According to the phone company everything should be working on their side. They are dispatching a tech, but have cautioned me up and down that I'll be charged some expensive hourly rate if the problem isn't on their side, so I want to be sure I've done my diligence as best I can.

I saw this kind of work back during Verizon days here in Maine (then became Fairpoint, and now Consolidated) and it continues on. They have the CO tech do the frame wiring, and they submit all done (for their work). Then I think the system thinks just because the CO tech did the frame work, that the entire loop from CO to prem is done, so the order is done. When in reality, F1 and F2 crossconnects might still need to be done, drops might need to be repaired, someone frogged pairs and didn't report it, etc... all of those needing I&R tech to do. And the vice versa might happen: I&R tech actually goes to NID and builds loop out to CO, but needs CO tech do frame wire, but that doesn't get done, I&R submits done, order is "done". It's all a mess now and won't get any better. It's all about metrics not getting the job done right. Sorry to be doom and gloom.

#628161 - 03/15/19 03:21 PM Re: POTS w/ no devices... 48VDC? [Re: OM05]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,131
Professor Shadow Online content
Admin
Professor Shadow  Online Content

Admin
*****

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,131
Canby, Oregon
At our old house, built 1935, whenever we had Telco issues I would have to direct the tech to the correct pedestal because their paperwork was incorrect and never got updated.

The drop was not on the new feed at the end of our driveway, nor was it across the street and a block away (as the records showed) but directly across the street. "Trust me, I know where it is."

Finally after living there 25 years they replaced the burial cable to the house due to no available good pairs in the original pedestal.


Dean
Photographs: https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/

Please don't confuse your "Google Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

Moderated by  dexman 

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
FREE DESI Labeling System Software!
FREE DESI Labeling Software - Click Here!
Most Recent 5 Post
Abbott & Costello
by dexman. 03/22/19 07:08 PM
kx-t30865 doorphone
by Barrontel. 03/22/19 01:19 AM
SV9100 Equipment for sale
by walterv. 03/21/19 11:53 PM
NEC -SV9100 equipment for sale
by walterv. 03/21/19 11:50 PM
4SLU2
by Biztel Cuban Okie Tech. 03/21/19 09:48 PM
Who's Online Now
58 registered members (OBT, Coral Tech, phonemeister, John807, michaelg, upstateny, Touch Tone Tommy, dexman, JBean3329, newtecky, skip555, Yoda, Rhonda, gelehu, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, DMontgomery, Daniel, Professor Shadow, vicbob, mongo5150, BobRobert, NEPhoneGuy, seafort, Telesystems, hawk82, usedphones, hbiss, Central Coast Tom, jknichols, junkman, ChrisNI, mreilly, justbill, KRRath, BTS01, mike b, westerntelephone, rpcurran, pvj, jab1780, Hernan, dwflood, walterv, RATHER BE FISHING, Silversam, dans, oobie, airen, mbhydro, Skunky, DD782, Barrontel, phonman123, MooreTel, metelcom, Gary S., 2 invisible), 665 guests, and 641 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
airen, Shew Consulting, genjizero, SamK, NEPhoneGuy
48966 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics92,265
Posts627,496
Members48,966
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
maggiomail, phreak2599, wew72717155
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 59
dans 24
Daniel 22
hbiss 21
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap