Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#628165 - 03/15/19 06:22 PM Old TDA50 CID  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 352
Not_sirius Offline
Member
Not_sirius  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 352
Benicia, CA
I just installed a 5193 CID module on the COT4 card on an older TDA50 before the G model.
AT&T had all their lines out of service at the time so I could not test.
The customer now says that even after AT&T fixed all the lines that the CID does not show? I don't recall ever doing any additional programming to get this to work before? What have I missed?

This customer is about 90 miles out from here so I want to be sure I have whatever I need to get this done in one job.

Thanks for any light you can shed.

Panasonic Equipment and Telephones
#628169 - 03/15/19 07:39 PM Re: Old TDA50 CID [Re: Not_sirius]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 352
Not_sirius Offline
Member
Not_sirius  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 352
Benicia, CA
I just emailed them to be sure they are looking at RINGING phones for the CID and not just the blinking ones as I think this may be the cause of the complaint.

#628177 - 03/15/19 11:41 PM Re: Old TDA50 CID [Re: Not_sirius]  
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,114
ShawnC Offline
Member
ShawnC  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,114
New England U.S.A
You may have it turned off in programing..... Also there are 3 types of Caller ID signals in North America wrong settings will stop it from working too!!

#628182 - 03/16/19 01:35 AM Re: Old TDA50 CID [Re: Not_sirius]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 352
Not_sirius Offline
Member
Not_sirius  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 352
Benicia, CA
Thanks Shawn,

Defaults protocols always worked in the past without doing anything. I must admit this was not my install and I did not look for anything weird deviating from the norm. I'll review the copy of the DYSYS before going.

#628195 - 03/16/19 08:22 PM Re: Old TDA50 CID [Re: Not_sirius]  
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,114
ShawnC Offline
Member
ShawnC  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,114
New England U.S.A
Idd have customer plug standard single line caller ID box or capable Cid cordless phone base into each C. O. LINE right in the demarc Jack's and see if info is coming thru .before pointing finger at equipment.... I've had issues with caller ID on tda 50G with voip lines....

Last edited by ShawnC; 03/16/19 08:31 PM.
#628196 - 03/16/19 08:28 PM Re: Old TDA50 CID [Re: ShawnC]  
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,114
ShawnC Offline
Member
ShawnC  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,114
New England U.S.A
Did you give everyone a call log 601 button?

#628201 - 03/17/19 01:33 AM Re: Old TDA50 CID [Re: Not_sirius]  
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 276
C5Z Offline
Member
C5Z  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 276
Upstate New York
There is also a Caller ID wait timer, the default is 5 seconds. Making it shorter can cause Caller ID not to show.


Instructions are just one man's opinion on paper
#628222 - 03/17/19 09:29 PM Re: Old TDA50 CID [Re: ShawnC]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 352
Not_sirius Offline
Member
Not_sirius  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 352
Benicia, CA
Hi Shawn,

If there is a Call log key will the CID show on a station display on one that's in the ICD group but NOT set to ring at all?

C5Z, I would be surprised if the CID was changed but I'll look through the DSYS.

#629034 - 04/11/19 08:44 PM Re: Old TDA50 CID [Re: Not_sirius]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 352
Not_sirius Offline
Member
Not_sirius  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 352
Benicia, CA
OK I finally got back. The CID problem was solved by merely re-seating the module. I rolled it with a known working one and it worked so I put the original one back and it's fine. I wish they would have had Dialtone when I was there the 1st time as I would have tried that right then. I must say the clips make them much easier to put in than remove.

Of course no good deed goes unpunished. They ALL want CID so I made them all ring and they turned down the ringers if they didn't want to hear it. HOWEVER....... They also have DSS keys for all the extensions and now complain that the lights flash too much when calls come in.

I can't think of any way around THIS though???? .

#629036 - 04/11/19 09:53 PM Re: Old TDA50 CID [Re: Not_sirius]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,132
Professor Shadow Online content
Admin
Professor Shadow  Online Content

Admin
*****

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,132
Canby, Oregon
Originally Posted by Not_sirius
HOWEVER....... They also have DSS keys for all the extensions and now complain that the lights flash too much when calls come in.

I can't think of any way around THIS though???? .


Easy, install a new DSS console next to the original and don't program it ring on incoming calls and place a piece of black construction paper over the bothersome DSS unit.
Or just have them unplug the original DSS then it starts getting overwhelming.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Shout Box
Most Recent 5 Post
ds5007s handset call log internal calls
by tom1234. 10/23/19 10:48 AM
Semicond rect power supply in WECO 551B
by morephones. 10/23/19 02:40 AM
WECO 551B Ringers and Buzzers???
by morephones. 10/23/19 02:33 AM
Memory cards
by Bushmills. 10/22/19 10:55 PM
Allworx picking up held calls
by Motohead. 10/22/19 07:41 PM
Who's Online Now
39 registered members (hitechcomm, ChrisNI, Curlycord, BobRobert, vicbob, Coral Tech, tom1234, Carl Navarro, DND ON, Gazza, Touch Tone Tommy, justbill, nortelvoip, morephones, Bob3470, Silversam, hbiss, Professor Shadow, newtecky, pdxjim911, ffej010, jeffmoss26, Yoda, buttercool, usedphones, dexman, royb, seafort, Bushmills, pete83uk, metelcom, RATHER BE FISHING, juno, Motohead, mongo5150, JBean3329, teldata1, jknichols, TelephoneSystemsDirect), 1,474 guests, and 866 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
buttercool, jmurphyau, Nicole1924, gkonstanto7, Brandon 92026
49151 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics92,968
Posts632,438
Members49,151
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
BigJon1023, envyufoneum, Jeffrey Hill, NyghtTech
NEC DX-40 PKG $299
NEC DX-40 PKG $299
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 33
MnDave 16
dans 12
Daniel 12
POLYCOM SOUNDPOINT 10 Pack
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
50% OFF Most All Phones
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap