Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#631025 - 07/09/19 09:04 PM What Router to use  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,865
metelcom Online happy
Admin
metelcom  Online Happy

Admin
*****

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,865
Maine, USA
I'm setting up a new communication closet and would like to secure my network better. I have DSL at this time but may switch to cable.

What is the best way to setup network?

Is there much difference between routers?

Managed or unmanaged switches?


VPN or not and if yes How??


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built in the last 10 years don't expect it to work right.
#631050 - 07/10/19 08:29 PM Re: What Router to use [Re: metelcom]  
Joined: Sep 2018
Posts: 18
Noobed2336 Offline
Member
Noobed2336  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2018
Posts: 18
Ridgecrest, CA
I did similar in my home for my xmas present

I put a 9u rackmount in my closet, with a keystone panel and rackmount switch. Then a shelf for my modem, router, and NAS. Then a shelf for a power strip.

Most consumer routers are absolute garbage. They never get security updates. I dont think a managed switch would be needed. Maybe if you had a tenant in the building with ethernet.

VPN is probably unnecessary too. If you get a nice router you can do load balancing and of your first connection is a load balancing VPN you can increase your maximum soeed.

I got a ubiquiti edge gateway router and a wifi ap and have been really impressed with their stuff. I went with a tplink gigabit switch though. The edge gateway can do load balancing, like if you have cable and dsl, it will spread out on both.

#631056 - 07/11/19 12:06 AM Re: What Router to use [Re: metelcom]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,016
jeffmoss26 Online content
Member
jeffmoss26  Online Content

Member
*****

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,016
Beachwood, OH
I have an Apple AirPort at home, been running solid for several years.
Ubiquiti makes some good stuff but it's not always straight forward to configure.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
#631059 - 07/11/19 12:40 AM Re: What Router to use [Re: metelcom]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,721
Professor Shadow Online content
Admin
Professor Shadow  Online Content

Admin
*****

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,721
Canby, Oregon
I keep things simple at home and use a Netgear wndr3400v3 wireless router connected to a DSL modem (telco provided) 5GHz for our cell phones and 2.4Ghz for laptops, printer (further distance from router) and tablets. Roku, TV, Blu-Ray et cetera are wired connections.

Configuring and Firmware updates are easy.

Local telco offered to rent me a wireless modem for an additional $6.00 per month.


Dean
Photographs: https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
#631062 - 07/11/19 02:58 AM Re: What Router to use [Re: metelcom]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,203
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content

Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,203
Arlington, Massachusetts
I also keep things fairly simple. Despite being a consumer grade unit, I use a Linksys WRT 1900AC in my bedroom. 2.4G for my mobile phone and 5.0G for my Microsoft Surface devices. 75M up & down.

I also placed various Linksys routers and a few Range Extenders around my church. No complaints other than Verizon won't give us FiOS, forcing us to make due with 7M down 768K up DSL service. mad


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
#631064 - 07/11/19 02:28 PM Re: What Router to use [Re: dexman]  
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,721
Professor Shadow Online content
Admin
Professor Shadow  Online Content

Admin
*****

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,721
Canby, Oregon
Originally Posted by dexman
No complaints other than Verizon won't give us FiOS, forcing us to make due with 7M down 768K up DSL service. mad


Our complex is surrounded by fiber however according to our telco website fiber build out projects schedule up to 2025...we're not on the list. So we're stuck with 17.6⬇ & 0.9⬆ DSL.


Dean
Photographs: https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
#631070 - 07/11/19 08:19 PM Re: What Router to use [Re: metelcom]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,203
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content

Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,203
Arlington, Massachusetts
Your down is twice as fast as ours. crazy

The only possible way I can see the church getting high speed data is if Verizon Core decides to install a 5G transmitter on one of the concrete streetlight poles near the building. I doubt that Comcast and RCN will open their wallets, install conduits and trench the property line.


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
#631119 - 07/13/19 03:43 AM Re: What Router to use [Re: Professor Shadow]  
Joined: Sep 2018
Posts: 18
Noobed2336 Offline
Member
Noobed2336  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2018
Posts: 18
Ridgecrest, CA
That's pretty good for dsl, you must be right next to a fiber fed dslam. You could order another dsl, you might need a new name, account, or tell them theres a new sublocation like main or unit b.

Then plug it into a load balancing router and it's almost the same as having 17.6x2.

The ubiquity does it like I said, just takes a few clicks. If you're a brave linux nerd you can also get most routers with a dd-wrt distro to do it

#631140 - 07/15/19 12:55 AM Re: What Router to use [Re: metelcom]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 740
ffej010 Offline
Member
ffej010  Offline

Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 740
Nebraska
I would just ask if bonded DSL is an option. They would just wire up a 2nd DSL circuit to another pair into the building and swap out your modem with a bonded modem.
Or ask if VDSL is available, bonded or traditional.

#631142 - 07/15/19 08:02 AM Re: What Router to use [Re: metelcom]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,203
dexman Online content
Spam Hunter
dexman  Online Content

Spam Hunter
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,203
Arlington, Massachusetts
I may give Verizon another call to see what, if any, options exist. smile


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
Most Recent 5 Post
Panasonic VB-43050
by paphoneinstaller. 07/21/19 01:21 PM
Toshiba CTX CO jack
by Jared R. 07/21/19 02:29 AM
NEC 9100 PRI
by Ray01. 07/21/19 02:03 AM
Retired
by draynor. 07/20/19 10:44 AM
TDA 50 and TVA200 Quick Setup
by cctech. 07/20/19 08:48 AM
Who's Online Now
22 registered members (Yoda, justbill, morephones, paphoneinstaller, Professor Shadow, Jared R, JBean3329, nfcphoneman, BobRobert, metelcom, EV607797, usedphones, dexman, nortelvoip, Coral Tech, jeffmoss26, RATHER BE FISHING, hbiss, Ray01, Will H, ChrisRR, Bob3470), 256 guests, and 829 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
gauda1, Gregco Supply In, g6270r, dabcom, carjean
49071 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics92,654
Posts630,305
Members49,071
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Bill Hankins, dambo, Hexeon, TeleDude, vols_spe
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 31
C5Z 12
Daniel 11
hbiss 10
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap