Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#632195 08/25/19 04:46 PM
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Hi, I have my internet service with centurylink, and does anyone know if they provide or sell a modem with battery backup, for when the power goes out, my phones will still work?
I have full VoIP service, and lose them when there is no power. I got rid of my POTS line and wondering if anyone knew. Thankyou

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,742
Likes: 9
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,742
Likes: 9
Are you speaking Fiber or DSL? Generally Fiber has battery backup and DSL doesn't. Any luck contacting them in your area?

Centurylink North Carolina


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
Are you speaking Fiber or DSL? Generally Fiber has battery backup and DSL doesn't. Any luck contacting them in your area?

Centurylink North Carolina
Hi and thank you for your response, the service I have is DSL and talked to the internet technicians and they told me to call customer service so I will try that tomorrow, thank you again.

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
If their answer is no, consider purchasing a decent battery backup unit. Tripp Lite is one such manufacturer.


I Love FEATURE 00
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered

Originally Posted by dexman
If their answer is no, consider purchasing a decent battery backup unit. Tripp Lite is one such manufacturer.
I thank you sir, I will check with them and then find if they have one available, then I might try your suggestion thank you again.

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
smile


I Love FEATURE 00
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Originally Posted by Southernphoneman
Originally Posted by dexman
If their answer is no, consider purchasing a decent battery backup unit. Tripp Lite is one such manufacturer.
I thank you sir, I will check with them and then find if they have one available, then I might try your suggestion thank you again.
Kind sir, is this something I might be able to consider?[img]https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/shopping?q=tbn:ANd9GcTm4icEdhlfiGLz9CX9R5Spo_hJMWWn9_DhfQeb2jnbsIiabXVlO1-hhFNwZs7-VBaCgAj8zDfQgw&usqp=CAc[/img][Linked Image from cdn.cnetcontent.com] *Edit* sorry about the large photo, if not allowed moderator please remove and I will then put another one up thank you.

Last edited by Southernphoneman; 08/26/19 01:14 AM.
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,216
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,216
Likes: 5
That is more a surge protector not a UPS.

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
It does offer battery backup. Depending upon the power consumption of the modem, it could hold it up for a while. Check the modem's power draw and figure out how long it can be supported by the UPS.


I Love FEATURE 00
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 817
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 817
If it is DSL, your phone line should still be coming from a local CO or terminal that has backup power. If you lose power at your residence, sure the modem may go down, but your POTS line should still function as you should still have -48VDC on it.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,742
Likes: 9
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,742
Likes: 9
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 minutes. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.

Last edited by Professor Shadow; 08/26/19 11:07 PM. Reason: correct timing error

Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,084
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by ffej010
If it is DSL, your phone line should still be coming from a local CO or terminal that has backup power. If you lose power at your residence, sure the modem may go down, but your POTS line should still function as you should still have -48VDC on it.

The OP noted that the POTS line was disconnected and the only services are DSL & VoIP. The UPS is to extend uptime during a power outage. smile


I Love FEATURE 00
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Originally Posted by ffej010
If it is DSL, your phone line should still be coming from a local CO or terminal that has backup power. If you lose power at your residence, sure the modem may go down, but your POTS line should still function as you should still have -48VDC on it.
Thank you and Hi, the phone part of the equasion is why I would be looking for the back up as I have done away with the POTS and now have VoIP so it would end up being back up for the phones them selves until the power came back on thank you for your response.

Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 hours. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.
Thankyou for this chart. what I would need this for is telephone only, as I have nothing but VoIP and during the event of a power outage I would have only one phone (a western electric 2500) and a digital to analogue converter(an obihai200) so I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage as anything else would drain the battery life so thats what I would need to figure out i guess is one obihai200 box and one 2500 telephone as well as the modem thank you for your help

Last edited by Southernphoneman; 08/26/19 09:26 PM.
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 510
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 510
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
In the example you show here are the numbers.

The top line represents how many watts are being used, that is the total power of everything you have plugged in.
Once you have the total power drain on the UPS (batteries) the second line tell you how long until the UPS will last (under optimum conditions)


[Linked Image]

For a example, most hair dryers draw 1500 watts. If you look up 1500 watts...oops not enough power.

Another example: My laptop draws 120 watts, so that would be just under 7-1/2 hours. Great...oops forgot the Modem...and the Wireless Router...hope I don't need to print anything!

So, you can see how it all affects the length of time you can stay on-line.


Run time is in minutes, not hours. So at 120 watts, it will last about 7.5 minutes


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,742
Likes: 9
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,742
Likes: 9
Originally Posted by Mercenary Roadie
Run time is in minutes, not hours. So at 120 watts, it will last about 7.5 minutes
Yeah...that's what I said 7.5 minutes...after correcting my error. Thank you Sir.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,742
Likes: 9
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,742
Likes: 9
Originally Posted by Southernphoneman
Thankyou for this chart. what I would need this for is telephone only, as I have nothing but VoIP and during the event of a power outage I would have only one phone (a western electric 2500) and a digital to analogue converter(an obihai200) so I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage as anything else would drain the battery life so thats what I would need to figure out i guess is one obihai200 box and one 2500 telephone as well as the modem thank you for your help

Only two devices...your Obihai 200 and your Modem. Unless your 2500 set plugs into the wall for AC, it does not consume power.

You state: "I would just be needing backup for this only for the duration of the power outage." Exactly how long do you plan on having your power out? Two hours...two days...two weeks? As far as I know it's almost impossible to tell how long the power is going to be out. It would be great though, I'd plan on going to Hawaii or something. 👍


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 423
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 423
Don't forget that even if you have a UPS at your house, you would be dependent on the Cable Company having power to their various distribution amplifier locations.

If they don't have a battery backup or get a portable gen set hooked in after a power outage you don't have service anyway.

.

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 664
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 664
Originally Posted by mbhydro
Don't forget that even if you have a UPS at your house, you would be dependent on the Cable Company having power to their various distribution amplifier locations.

If they don't have a battery backup or get a portable gen set hooked in after a power outage you don't have service anyway.

.
Truth. Spectrum in my part of the state has absolutely ZERO batteries in their gray powersupply enclosures on the utility poles. Only way you might have service in a power outage is if you live right near the cableco hub (typical concrete cellphone style building). The line amps for those trunks are inside the hub which has generator power. But as you get further down the road, they don't have enough power to service.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  dexman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,631
Posts635,885
Members49,590
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
dbman, Irving Ross, rburris389, RHS, wood, XetaTech
Newest Members
TVCTech, joe angi, TommyKay, 電信小吳, Partswatch
49,589 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 10
Toner 7
dans 5
Yoda 5
Who's Online Now
4 members (jacktel, RATHER BE FISHING, Curlycord, TVCTech), 31 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5