Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#632346 - 08/29/19 06:06 PM Lines on a ipoffice  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 210
High Mesa Communications Offline
Member
High Mesa Communications  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 210
Montrose Co
I Have a customer with a ipoffice,basic mode. The lines are coming from a fiber provider thru their modem and they output analog lines. At least twice a week all the lines on the ip office go red and the lines appear to be dead, if you reset the system they come back. If you put a butt set on the lines they are fine. Is the system getting something from the providers modem that is causing the lines to get "tied up"?

Avaya & Nortel search for systems, cards, phones, software, manuals and repairs!
Avaya Nortel Eqt Search
#632347 - 08/29/19 07:04 PM Re: Lines on a ipoffice [Re: High Mesa Communications]  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 11,962
hbiss Online content
Member
hbiss  Online Content

Member
***

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 11,962
New York
No. Something with the system.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#632354 - 08/29/19 08:17 PM Re: Lines on a ipoffice [Re: High Mesa Communications]  
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,569
JBean3329 Online content
Moderator-Iwatsu
JBean3329  Online Content

Moderator-Iwatsu
*****

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,569
Jamestown, NY
Probably having a problem with the module the trunks are connected to, likely the combo card. Had a similar problem in a similar situation, replaced the module, all fixed.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
#632365 - 08/30/19 12:49 PM Re: Lines on a ipoffice [Re: High Mesa Communications]  
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
Billx Offline
Member
Billx  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
New Hampshire
The problem is likely the provider.
Many of them send a signal that looks like Caller ID to the KSU.
So, the KSU lights the CO Line LED and waits for the "CID Complete" message, which never arrives since it is not Caller ID data.
Now you have a Steady LED on any and all CO Lines.

Power cycling the KSU will clear it and may trick you into thinking the KSU is the problem, but it is not.

Here is your test.
Turn Caller ID off on all of the CO Lines and see if the trouble disappears.
Then, after a period of time, turn CID back on and see if the trouble re-appears.
If it does, then you can fight with the provider.

Best yet, switch to SIP Trunks and use up to 3 of the free SIP Trunk Channel license that are built into the KSU.

#632383 - 08/30/19 05:19 PM Re: Lines on a ipoffice [Re: High Mesa Communications]  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 11,962
hbiss Online content
Member
hbiss  Online Content

Member
***

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 11,962
New York
The IPO doesn't work that way. Turning CID "on" merely delays the extension ringing for 1 CO ring to allow the CID info to be displayed first. It couldn't care less about the CID otherwise.

Now, I suppose a continuous "ring" from the modem on all lines might do what you are experiencing but I wouldn't expect it to lock up the system requiring a reset.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#632386 - 08/30/19 05:39 PM Re: Lines on a ipoffice [Re: hbiss]  
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
Billx Offline
Member
Billx  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
New Hampshire
I tested it here with 8.1(81) Basic KSU.

Incoming Calls with "Trunk Type" set to "Loop Start" (No CID) show up as "External" in the LCD, not the actual CID of the caller.

Maybe Avaya changed it in later releases.

#632398 - 08/30/19 11:29 PM Re: Lines on a ipoffice [Re: High Mesa Communications]  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 11,962
hbiss Online content
Member
hbiss  Online Content

Member
***

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 11,962
New York
I believe that's correct. But how do you get from there to a CID signal locking up the system? Is that something you have verified before or been able to create on your test system?

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#632414 - 08/31/19 11:45 PM Re: Lines on a ipoffice [Re: High Mesa Communications]  
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 332
dude Online content
Member
dude  Online Content
Member

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 332
EDWARDSVILLE, ILLINOIS
high mesa
this opinion is from an unqualified source with some small ipo experience. i once made about six site visits chasing a similar complaint. billx's suggestion was my first test.
my problems went away while i had cid turned off. if you think about it, cid information could be delayed 5-10 seconds during a normal pstn ring cycle. you may discover some ipo call routing instructions that start happening before cid is completely received resulting in your trouble symptoms. my final solution turned out to be a programming problem related to alternate call routing timing. do turn off cid trunk option as a test. that will not prove the trouble to be in either direction, but it may prove that it is connected to the solution.
good luck.

Last edited by dude; 09/01/19 12:09 AM.

HE SEEMS TO BE SAYING SOME KIND OF WORDS
#632503 - 09/05/19 12:38 PM Re: Lines on a ipoffice [Re: hbiss]  
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
Billx Offline
Member
Billx  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
New Hampshire
I do not recall 100% how I tested it.

I did a write up on it but I cannot find it in my computer.

To the best of my recollection, I think I what I did was to connect one PBX's Analog Extension (the source of the CID) to the IPO Basic KSU CO Line port.

I also had a buttset/testset connected to monitor the call across the Analog Extensions Tip and Ring.

This way I could hear the actual ring generator and CID going to the IPO KSU.

I made a test call and all went OK.

On the next call, I quickly disconnected the Tip and Ring to the IPO KSU during the CID data burst.

The CO Line LED came on, stayed lit and did not go out.

Somewhere on line I found the CID Specs for the data burst and there is a "Finished" or "Completed" data word sent at the end of the burst.

Since the Telco Provider is sending some type of signal (that the KSU interprets as CID and it turns the LED on) and there is no "Finished" or "Completed" data word,
the LED stays lit.

I had a customer with the same trouble and he turned off his CID in the KSU for a day and the trouble went away.
He turned CID back on, a day later, and the trouble came back in less than 1 minute.

The Telco Providers can send data like SMDR (CDR), Message Waiting or just about anything they want to.
The biggest problem is that they do not understand what we are talking about.

I mainly support Panasonic and IPO Systems and I have never had this report for Panasonic.

It seems to me that the IPO is just very sensitive to anything that looks like CID Data.

#632620 - 09/10/19 03:06 PM Re: Lines on a ipoffice [Re: High Mesa Communications]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 210
High Mesa Communications Offline
Member
High Mesa Communications  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 210
Montrose Co
Good options to try. Now that CID was brought up, I do remember the same thing with an older ipoffice and the cable company, turned off CID and the problem went away and finally got them to fix it. I will go and change the programming today


Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Shout Box
Most Recent 5 Post
7100 Power Supply Repair?
by RM SYSTEMS. 09/18/19 12:04 PM
Polycom IP 7000 Soundstation
by SamsungCat. 09/17/19 01:30 PM
Valcom Class connect
by teldata1. 09/17/19 12:30 AM
Panasonic KX-TA824 Discontinuation
by DonaldR. 09/16/19 10:21 PM
OS 7200 External Forward Timeout Problem
by nlodoen. 09/16/19 06:12 PM
Who's Online Now
34 registered members (dexman, JBean3329, BTS01, Professor Shadow, hbiss, jab1780, dude, jknichols, pdxjim911, oobie, Touch Tone Tommy, pvj, RM SYSTEMS, usedphones, DND ON, BtekFool, vicbob, nonameyet, mbhydro, newtecky, erniejoey, KRRath, justbill, TelephoneSystemsDirect, gelehu, nlodoen, teldata1, MooreTel, nfcphoneman, BobRobert, metelcom, DonaldR, morephones, Bob3470), 1,779 guests, and 722 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Tech Support Line 1.800.766.3425
Over the Phone Tech Support for your Phones and Business Phone Systems
Popular Topics(Views)
Newest Members
Russ Micheli, Rob Lindstrom, Cristina Castill, It's Me, BOC
49127 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics92,835
Posts631,823
Members49,126
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
azrael4854, Jig, Shell
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 95
C5Z 42
hbiss 18
ChrisRR 14
Daniel 13
50% OFF Most All Phones
FREE Voip Phone - Click Here!
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Free Phone Repair Diagnostic
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2019
Trusted Partners
Sitemap