Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#633297 10/14/19 09:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 599
Likes: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 599
Likes: 1
A customer went from a server based email to office 365. Of course email gateway stops working. Got settings from their IT vendor and I checked settings on couple of my other customers using Office 365. Everything looks correct, not much info needed.

Error message is consistent "SMTP failed to resolve address of____________Unknown host.

Using Google DNS

Customer is running 4.63 software.

Any thoughts? Thanks.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 58
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 58
Is the google DNS reachable from their network? Is the gateway correct? What do you have for the POP and SMTP for outlook?

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 599
Likes: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 599
Likes: 1
I'll have to check and see if DNS is reachable. I assume you mean the gateway on the 7100? If so, yes because I can remote in and they are running remote IP Phones.
I'll have to get the POP and SMTP from the IT vendor. Never needed those settings on office 365 before. Thanks.

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 679
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 679
In 5.6.1 are both your DNS servers set to google? I would use 4.2.2.3 for one of them. I have had very good luck with using level3's DNS server. Also depending on the TLS they are using with Office 365 you might not be able to make it work. Our systems only go up to TLS 1.1 I think. Therefore if they are using the newest one it might cause a issue. That's just an FYI for ya. I normally just use google as a relay account to send emails. It always works without an issue and no headaches.

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 599
Likes: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 599
Likes: 1
Turns out we needed to Change the system IP address and reboot the system. Not sure why it worked. I did notice when changing the DNS the restart is quick. IP address restart takes much longer. Maybe just needed a good reboot/ Thanks all.

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 679
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 679
Reason being is cause on a DNS restart it does a soft reboot. On the IP one it does a reboot as if you would've turned off the system and back on.


Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,821
Posts636,743
Members49,643
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Airdale, AnnetteLee, AnnettesDayIsUg, bigboy, Blackline, boomj, db Communications, gwh, samcorcione9111, Victor D.
Newest Members
julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford, Nigel S
49,642 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 12
ramo 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 63 guests, and 27 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5